You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vaccination: The Dangerous Myth that will Kill, Part 5 of 5

in #science7 years ago

Thank you so much for this series. I work in immunology, and have actually done some peer reviewed ""research"" on vaccines. I work in St. Louis, and sometimes my work takes me into the infectious disease wards in Children's Hospital.

It is one of the hardest things for a human being to witness to see the children in their isolation rooms. I was working with one child who was sick from complications from a disease that we have vaccinations for, and they cried and cried after being told that the therapy dog couldn't come in to see them for fear of spreading their illness to another immunocompromised child.

Every time we lose a child to vaccine preventable illnesses, we mourn. Sometimes I wish I could bring an anti-vax parent with me into the hospital to see what their arrogance and fear does to families.

Sort:  

I am super happy that people enjoy the series like you do. I wish I could know whether this series had the potential to do anything for swaying any parents that were teetering over to vaccination... though on steemit the anti-vac community is quite a bit larger. I have to be honest when I say that I am not completely certain how to respond to the entirety of your post other than saying that I truly hope that as many of those children survive as can. Thank you for sharing, and reading.

Thanks for your response.

I read somewhere that the most effective way to convince parents to vaccinate their children is to educate them on the reality of these illnesses, as vaccinations have been so effective as to let us forget about the devastation they caused families not so long ago. Unfortunately, this runs the risk of exploiting some of these kids, as pictures are the best wake to evoke a visceral reaction. I am planning on writing a post about it, once I find some sources besides my faulty memory.

The antivax community on here is actually really spurred my decision to get a steemit account. Any way I can contribute in the fight against science woo is welcome!

As for the kids, thanks for caring. They do good work here; I just wish parents wouldn't make their jobs any harder than they have to be.

Well if you plan on posting science related stuff, I truly recommend posting with the steemstem tag. It will provide you with a community of support and help you grow, as long as you post content to their degree of quality (cite sources, provide sources for photos, etc) and I truly hope to see yo around the community!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53807.82
ETH 2237.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30