Ridiculous Scientific Names #10 - The Bilbo Baggins Shrimp & Kamera lens

in #science6 years ago

It's been about 4 months since I made one of those posts, so I think the time has come to make a new one :D

So, today I got for you two ridiculously named organisms, the first is a newly discovered species of shrimp named after Bilbo Baggins, Odontonia bagginsi, and the other is a unicellular, flagellate organism named... Kamera lens!

Now, let's learn more about the two:

1# The Bilbo Baggins Shrimp

The Bilbo Baggins shrimp (Odontonia bagginsi) is one of two species of shrimp described in a new paper by biology student  Werner de Gier, from the Leiden University. The other species is Odontonia plurellicola and both shrimps are tiny and live symbiotically inside tunicates.

Specimens of both species were caught during a project Gier was doing for his bachelor:

 The newly described shrimps were collected during the Ternate expedition to the Indonesian islands of Tidore and Ternate, organised by Naturalis Biodiversity Center and the Indonesian Institute of Sciences (LIPI) in 2009. [source]

Much like other Odontonia species, these two fellas are very small, less than a centimeter long and appear to have a symbiotic relationship with the tunicates they were found in, possibly spending their entire lives inside them.

This is a digital illustration of Odontonia plurellicola with its host Plurella sp. (Credit: Franz Anthony CC-BY 4.0)

But why was the shrimp named after Bilbo Baggins? Because..hairy feet:

The species is named “bagginsi”, inspired by the famous Hobbit family name “Baggins” featured in the “The Hobbit” and “The Lord of the Rings” books. The fictional characters called “Hobbits” possess hairy feet comparable to this species. [credit]

Needless to say, Gier was very excited to both have published a paper and discover two species before even getting his bachelor degree... Who wouldn't?

"Being able to describe, draw and even name two new species in my bachelor years was a huge honour. Hopefully, we can show the world that there are many new species just waiting to be discovered, if you simply look close enough!"  Gier said.

Ok enough with the LOTR folklore, now let's move to the next organism, which imo has the most hilarious and ridiculous name I have featured in the series:

2# Kamera lens

A Manual of the Infusoria, 1880, edited to match Kamera lens (public domain)

Kamera lens is  a unicellular organism and the only representative in the genus Kamera. It's a free-living, swimming, heterotrophic organism with an average size of about 7 to 3 μm, first described by Otto Friedrich Müller in 1773. 

Still, there's much we don't know about it and the species taxonomy has changed numerous times since and even today it's placed as incertae sedis under Eukaryota. First described as "Monas lens", this is how it's taxonomy has changed over the course of time:

  • Heteromita lens (O.F.Müller) W.S.Kent (1881)
  • Bodo lens (O.F.Müller) Klebs (1892)
  • Heteromastix lens (O.F.Müller) H.M.Woodcock (1916)

Finally, sometime in 1991  J. Patterson and M. Zölffel  found all previous descriptions lacking, decided to be funny and created the genus Kamera for the species, hence Kamera lens. It also appears to be "provisionally"  placed in the phylum Ochrophyta which would make this organism a chromist. Chromista is a kingdom containing mainly photosynthetic algae but Kamera lens is a heterotrophic organism, so I guess it's an exception...

To be honest the published literature is really limited and from the little I could access the more I read about the species the more confused I got! Feel free to shed some light about its nature in the comments below if you can! Maybe @mobbs can help too, with his series on evolution I think he is the closest thing steemit has to an evolution expert :P

3# Bonus Scientific Name: Aha ha

So if you've read this far and you haven't scrolled all down to type a spammy variation of "good post"here's a little bonus binomial name. A name that I think is even more ridiculous then Kamera lens.

Meet Aha ha, a small Australian wasp, described by the entomologist Arnold Menke in 1977. Obviously, the name is a form of joke but the exact story behind it is unclear. This is the story as recollected by Howard E. Evans, who claims to be one of the first two people (along with Bob Matthews) to have seen specimens of the species:

 I poured out the cell contents onto a sheet of paper, and  there among the potpourri of flies bees, and wasps, were these tiny beauties, their  Silvery pile glittering in the afternoon sun. "Aha!" I said, and Bob replied "Ha!":  rather loudly, though we had no idea Arnold had heard us on the other side of the world.

But Menke begs to differ:

I think Howard must have been drinking too much Swan Lager when he wrote this.My recollection is that while going over some sphecid material collected "down under"by Howard and Bob, I came upon a cute littie gray wasp with strange tarsal ungues and exclaimed "aha, a new genus". Eric Grissell resident wit, who happened to be standing nearby observing the master, retorted with some skepticism, "ha". 

Whose story is true? I guess we will never know... All I know is I like them both :D

The End

Ok, I think this is enough for today. I wanted to provide more information about the last two species featured in the post but unfortunately the scientific literature is very limited and I couldn't access much of it despite my best efforts. :/

References & Further Reading

  - All references are provided in the form of clickable links in the main body of the post :)

More Ridiculously Named Animals

Didn't have enough? Ok! Here are some more animals with stupid names:  

Sort:  

Sure it has hairy feet... But little known fact. That shrimp loves ADVENTURES

Sure it has hairy
Feet... But little known fact. That
Shrimp loves ADVENTURES

                 - saywha


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I love reading this in a William Shatner voice

😂😂😂😂😂

I guess that's what you get when cinephile undergrads name species...

Yes, I would've named it after Tom Selleck, real hairy not fictional hairy.

All I can really add is that even the female bagginses have horribly hairy feet:

Gross.

That's a mildly sexist comment. I approve it

Ahahaha! No way... but actually yes. I like this funny series! ^^

Technically I got lost reading because am not a fan of biology but the names are really ridiculous like who is behind the naming of this organism

his series on evolution I think he is the closest thing steemit has to an evolution expert :P

Technically he is

Nicely written @trumpman

Hi @trumpman!
I am really amused reading about the findings of the two new species mentioned above and reading the relation that was put above to one of my most liked movie "The Lord of the Rings".

It was a really good read! :)

Wishing you a very happy day ahead! :)

Glad you liked it :D

Both the Howard and the Menke story seems almost the same that one won't help but think one of them modified the other person's account. For instance, both stories agreed that one person said "Aha" the other "Ha".

Creating room for doubt, if both stories really happened, separately, then you know it's these little beauties "destiny" to bear the name.
I enjoyed your article @trumpman.

Thank you :)

Hi @trumpman!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with steemstem - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

This publication is different from the last publication I uploaded, I think. Greetings and good post very interesting and entertaining

Yeah, I think my publication is different when compared to your last one titled: "Go sightseeing to Russia and meet Yeniseisk beautiful city.", I think.

Greetings and good spam comment, very interesting and entertaining

This publication was publicised in public but different than my publicly publicised publication. I publicly pronounce that I prefer this particular publication.

I really did not think a wasp was called Aha ha, it reminded me of a certain band.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25