Best electron microscope images

in #science5 years ago

Have you ever seen something that made you literally stop and go..."WOW!"?

I remember going on a hike and seeing some of God's creations, feeling a sense of joy and wonder fill my heart and I broke into tears and said those words.

It's not often that you have those experiences, but they are to be savored and enjoyed....even written in a journal to remember them.
I had a similar (not quite as grand as the example before) but something that was stunning to me to the point where my mind wondered to the spiritual and wondrous.
That was when I saw the world through the eyes of an electron microscope!

Seeing the world up close is fantastic and awesome! It is really another world that we now have the privilage to see in this day and age.

I will let the images do the talking......hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Calcium Carbonate. They call them "chalk roses" and they're stunning

Zebrafish larvae

Surface of a rose

The larvae of a fly....a maggot

Close up of a cats tongue. Now you know why!

Salt and pepper up close

A daddy-long-legs spider up close

A cat flea

Refined and raw sugar crystals

Velcro

Dust magnified 22 million times

Human eyelashes

Blood clot crystals. These cover over the wound and seal it

Talking about blood. Here is a ruptured capillary

Snow Crystals

SEM of amoeba. They call it Jaws


And to think it is all thanks to the amazing device seen here below:

It's quite interesting and maybe I should do another post showing exactly how the device works, as its not an optical device that we know of, but an electron device that collects the information from scattering electrons.
Take a quick look at the below video for a quick explanation.

Sort:  

Howdy sir towjam! wow I love this post! lol...it's totally amazing to see these things and creatures, the creatures look like monsters that have been made by Hollywood. Nature is so awesome, thanks for the great upclose looks!

Hi @janton!!
Good to 'see' you.
Yeah I know what you mean. When I saw them I was fascinated by the way they look in 'real life'.
We know so little, yet are getting so much great information. Were truly blessed to live in the world where things like this are a possibility.

Very interesting indeed! I have never had the chance to see anything under a electron microscope.

hi there....besides on my PC screen, me nor :)

Congratulations @towjam! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Awesome thank you for the note

Incredible images!! That maggot is like something Tim Burton dreamed up!

That is true!!!
I could see that creature talking or mumbling on Star Wars :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46