You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: According to new research, armed conflict is the best predictor of decline of wildlife in Africa, much more so than mining, corrupt governments or urban development

in #science7 years ago

I know it's not technically a conflict zone but the situation for wildlife I. Zimbabwe has been nothing short of awful. People there have been eating "bush meat" through the troubles. No animals were spared big or small. The game parks were especially hard hit. The example of the dmz in Korea shows that if nature is given even a little chance live will explode back after some time, there is hope .

Sort:  

That's for sharing your knowledge about how this has affected Zimbabwe with us, @tony10. When what you describe is considered to not even be a conflict zone, just imagine how it is for an area with even worse conditions. It's no wonder that there are many endangered animals when stuff like this happens.

Also, I just want to point out that I in no way blame the people who do this out of necessity; sometimes they have to do things like this in order to survive, and I feel so lucky that I'm home safe in front of my computer and writing about this without having to worry about how I should feed myself.

Anyway, thanks again for stopping by, @tony10! Your comments add a lot of value to my posts, and I appreciate that a lot.

I agree, people will do what they must to survive. Luckily armed conflict has reduced massively in sub saharan Africa over the last 20 years. Zim has a new leader who fingers crossed the situation will improve there also.

Yeah, it looks like things are beginning to be better for many parts of Africa, but there's still some regions that have a lot of problems. But let's cross our fingers and hope it will keep improving, and then both animals and humans can live a much better life!

Hey you gave him way more than me. :( Support #ceo lol

That is because @tony10 actually made the effort to write a good comment. I'm not anyone's personal upvote bot, so if you can't bother to write good comments, I won't bother with giving them upvotes. You either have to be a part of the community and provide us with your insights on the matter, or you can go somewhere else.

My comments are the best. #bias lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57112.10
ETH 2405.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28