You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reviving a vintage Transmission Electron Microscope - The Philips EM 420 (part 1).

in #science6 years ago

This is great. I once used TEM that looked to be about this old in the late 2000's . All those analog knobs and dials brings back memories. I was surprised at the time by how well it works. Sample prep was the real killer (it took a few days to fix samples for viewing for my experiments).

Sort:  

The improvements that have been made with TEM have been very gradual since the 80s. Computers made them easier to use, but did not necessarily help people understand them. This guy does not have a single processor anywhere, but works extremely well. Many claim it was the best scope Philips ever made. Oh yeah, sample prep is an artform. A while back a TEM lab manager told me the best analyst he ever had was an artist. Unfortunately, I have little sample prep experience, but I aim to change that. Glad you enjoyed the read. Working on my next post tonight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63365.67
ETH 3398.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44