Myth or Fact? #19 – Cold weather makes you catch a cold

in #science7 years ago

Welcome dear Steemians to a new episode of Myth or Fact, a Steemit exclusive series.

I am quite certain that almost everyone knows this sentence: “Put on warm clothes when you go out or you will catch a cold!”. My mother used to yell this at me every winter and I refused to listen. The next day I did regret my decision and was sick in bed. Begging for some of her delicious soup she kept telling me she was right. I hate it.

Was she? Did she really know I will get a cold simply by not putting on my jacket? Well, after this episode of Myth of Fact you will know better! Let’s go.

Viruses

First of all, we need to know what causes a cold. Generally spoken, a cold is caused by viruses, so called Rhinoviruses.
Viruses are small particles that can be considered parasites. To be accurate we must distinguish between a virion and a virus. A virion is a virus particle outside a cell and a virus is a particle inside the host cell. We saw that bacteria can reproduce themselves and fulfill the criteria for life. Viruses however depend on living cells of other organisms. They can’t reproduce by themselves. This results in a thin line between living and nonliving. On the one hand, they contain the information for life, DNA, but on the other hand they have no reproductive capability of their own. Being accurate we will consider viruses as non-living particles.

Virions usually are one-hundredths of the size of a bacterium and consists of two parts: the genetic information (DNA or RNA) and a protein coat. The following figure depicts a Rhinovirus:


Fig. 1 Molecule structure of a Rhinovirus Source

If you want to read more about bacteria and viruses I recommend you to have a look at my post: Life Explorers – The Science Academy – Bacteria and Viruses where we have more in-depth look at this topic.

Temperature?


Normally the human body has a core temperature of 37°C. At this temperature our immune system provides the best support and ensures to work most efficiently. With lower temperatures our body starts to works poorly. Blood circulation slows down and the communication between our cells and brain gets slower. Rhinoviruses prefer to spread around 31°C through mucous membranes of the eyes, mouth, or nose – and in winter your mucous membranes are colder!

While it is true that during winter we might catch a cold easier than in summer, it not particularly linked to the temperature. Actually, it’s even better to go out than stay inside! In winter most viruses are found in closed rooms with bad air circulation and many people inside - source of infections!

The warm and dry air dries out your mucous membranes which allows viruses to enter your body and cause damage.

Outside however you have fresh air and movement boosts your health. Wash your hands more often and avoid touching your eyes, mouth or nose! This will help you. Furthermore do more sports, eat healthy, avoid crowded places and air your room several times a day.

To summarize: cold weather alone can’t get us a cold. Viruses are responsible for us becoming ill and they spread more easily in cold days.


Do you get a cold easily during winter? Do you drink much tea, take vitamins or do sports to prevent from getting sick? Tell us how you strengthen your immune system!

Until next time! Yours, Tim
Sort:  

When I stopped my smoking for 2 years I get cold very often almost every month thus I'm back smoking but minimal and never get cold.

Any science behind this approach? Could it be psychological ?

Not really psychological, 2 years of not smoking, I'm actually free and never crave smoking, even now, I am no longer addicted, I can stop smoking anytime, I only smoke after meal so I don't get cold.

That's excellent. I like when people are able to discontinue negative things abruptly, "cold Turkey " as they say.
I feel like mind over matter is real phenomenon

Now that's odd. Any other side effects?

Not really a side effects, just easy to acquire cold when not smoking.
May be this is the reason why 2nd hand smokers die first.

Ha, now you can just say its smokers cough, not a cold: way better!
JK, I smoke too, damn "good" habit.cough, cough

Smoker cough when you're smoking, I was not smoking for 2 years and I'm free of smokers cough, what I get easily is cold and flu.

Sounds like your immune system may be running a little weak. Look into gut health by Dr. Josh Axe. He has a bunch of great videos on YouTube
Hope that can help, my friend.

When i stopped smoking 30 years ago i had no problems, i'm 30 by the way.

Quality post tot he fullest, as always!

Thanks for sharing. Two years ago or so, I heard over CBC news about a statistic concerning cold feet. Apparently, humans are something like 20% more prone to getting sick if we have cold feet, anything in relation to that? ;)

Namaste :)

Maybe the reason is related with the fact that when outside is cold, people usually stays inside closed sites, so there is stadistically more probability of transmision of viruses.

When catching a cold your blood circulation is more intense towards core/hearth. Your feets need less blood and thus get/feel colder. You are sick before you have cold feels

Well, that is content that could easily spark the attention of people outside of the Steemit environment - https://twitter.com/The_Puffin_Post/status/867100539275837440

Thanks! I am always sharing my articles on many other platforms.

It is a very well thought out and cool series Mr. Scientist!

The_Puffin_Post ThePuffinPost tweeted @ 23 May 2017 - 19:30 UTC

@Steemit Scientist timsaid with "Myth or Fact? #19 – Cold weather makes you catch a cold"

steemit.com/science/@timsa… / https://t.co/XRFv8Z8QRJ

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Hahah. NO! I am immune . Eat my smoothie, VIRUS!

Hahahah!

I generally don't go outside unless I REAALLLLY have to. Because cold sucks. But tea and blankets and hats <3

What we experience as a "cold" is our lymphatic system reacting as it should. Our body produces mucus from the mucosa (Inner lining of the body). Upon certain conditions, the mucosa will produce this mucus to buffer and protect the body.

Acids present in the body such as drinking a coke, or having a smoke, will cause the formation of mucus.

Our lymphatic system will attempt to release this from the body through all available channels. Our primary release is through the kidneys and so we should release a small amount several times a day. If it's plugged up, we will get what we refer to as a cold.

Cold temperatures activate the lymph as well as it is alkaline and our body tends to be too acidic due to our improper diet and lifestyle.

Plug up the muffler of a car and see what happens. It channels back the other direction and tries to find a way out. (Of course hat doesn't last very long!)

We are experiencing a cold spell of weather in New England and I, along with my whole family is sick with a virus cold. Now I know why. Great article.

Dear Tim, I think your immune system was already compromised before the exposure. Verify, and do something positive to avoid a future occurrence.

Silver lozenges might be helpful. Zinc lozenges
Extra C, D3 - builds up immune system
probiotics
ginger tea, garlic, tumeric , Elderberry, Echinacea, Goldenseal
chicken soup
Don't get colds too often, recover fast if I do. Take a silver lozenge right away if there is the slightest chance - for prevention.

Followed and Upvoted..! :D

Although most people consider the cold and flu season to span from November through February, these ailments are not limited to the winter months. Winter is not the only time that people get colds but they are more prevalent at that time. Colds happen all year round

That's right! There is also summer flu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66