Will a Model Rocket Motor Work In Vacuum?

in #science7 years ago

One of the best science Youtube channels. CodysLab

He does everything from mining to chemical experiments.

In this video he shows how rocket motors work in vacuum.

Id recommend checking out his channel its really entertaining and he covers many topics.

Check out his channel here:

https://www.youtube.com/user/theCodyReeder

Sort:  

Hey, thanks, that was a very cool series of experiments!

I wouldn't have guessed that the engine would need some pressure in order to fully ignite... That was the biggest surprise to me. :O

😄😇😄

@creatr

Yes he makes all kinds of videos like that which are very surprising.

before watching the videoo I will guess yes, because the powder has it's own oxidizer in it, it doesn't need the air around it to be oxygen rich. Now I'll watch :)

Lol guessing it wasn't what you thought it was.

No, I have played with model rockets a lot in my life and I really thought it would ignite without having to seal the ignitor like that, i though the ignitor would be hot enough to get the powder in the rocket going, but i WAS right that the rocket could burn in a vacuum which it did.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97