You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Vaccine Potential: Living Viruses which are Unable to Replicate In Your Cells

in #science8 years ago

Thank you so much for doing this. I think you have covered it the best you could in the detail presented here.

You have broken it down into lots of steps and given quite a lot of explanation. I think most people with a rudimentary understanding of molecular biology would be able to follow without much difficulty.

Further if people want a more simplified version they can refer to my original post or the Ars Technica article which I linked to.

Sort:  

You are quite welcome, this was a really good article and I enjoyed reading it and writing this out. If you come across other cool molecular biology related things that you would like me to try to spell out for people, please shoot them my way. This area is what I know best, and I think I can have an impact and really be helpful for people with posts such as this!

Indeed, I have your post linked up at the top for easy access!

Thanks. Yes I will do. It would be great if we could people for each scientific field and have them break down the most interesting papers in this way.

I think this should be one of the longer term goals of the #steemSTEM project. To have groups of people with specializations in areas of science, who are able to create good, digestible and accurate reports of technical science literature for every day people. A lot of what I see elsewhere on the internet is misleading, and perhaps that is because the writers lack sufficient training. We should shoot to do better here on Steemit.

Yes definitely. I think it would be useful for busy professionals as well as interested members of the public. When you are in a clinical setting for example it is hard to find the time to do proper critical appraisal of every important new paper in your field. Some kind of analysis by a trusted expert would be helpful. I have found that Medscape do something similar but in a very limited degree for medical papers - it is basically a couple of sentences. There is certainly room for something more in depth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37