You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chronic Exposure to Ultra-Low Dose of Roundup Herbacide Found to Cause Fatty Liver Disease In Rat Model

in #science8 years ago

This is really scary. I agree the sample size is small so we need further follow up on this to see if it holds up. I will try to check the paper if I have time - can't really comment on the genomics part as that is way beyond my knowledge level lol! Since metabolic syndrome is associated quite strongly with NAFL this could be at least a partial explanation of the explosion of this and type 2 diabetes in recent years. I would need to have a look at the data on glyphosphate use to see if there is a correlation.

Sort:  

It's certainly indicative that further work needs be done, I don't know that I find it all that frightening yet. At this point I would like to see work done by groups with out a biased funding source find something similar.

At the very least, the evidence does appear to be stacking up that glyphosate as a herbicide isn't particularly a good idea.

I think the scary thing is that this is something that we know is in the environment and people are aware of. The question is what is the effect of all the other stuff we have put out there.

Well there is no such thing as a free lunch so presumably for any upside we have for introducing a compound to do something, there must also be a cost. Whether that cost is significant is another matter. However it is for this reason that basic research, and extensive testing for fundamental properties of basically any chemical is imperative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54016.63
ETH 2289.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29