Stephen Hawking Died Today - Age 76!

in #science7 years ago (edited)

I’m not the best speaking about this stuff but I’m just here to inform everyone:

Today is a tragic day, one of the world's greatest scientists, that gave so much to our species has passed away, Stephen Hawking.
Sources say he passed peacefully this morning in his house at the age of 76.
For those that don’t know he spent his whole adult life struggling with motor neuron disease, doctors gave him a couple of years after the first diagnoses and he was able to live until the age of 76.

Neil deGrasse Tyson was one of the first to tweet about this tragedy:

His passing has left an intellectual vacuum in his wake. But it's not empty. Think of it as a kind of vacuum energy permeating the fabric of spacetime that defies measure. Stephen Hawking, RIP 1942-2018. - Neil deGrasse Tyson

For more information:
BBC News
ABC News
NPR
A brief view of some of the great achievement he did while still alive

Tomorrow I will watch the movie The Theory of Everything – a movie that explains some of his life, I’ve already seen it once and I’ll watch it again to honor him and his constant struggle to make our civilization and world a better place to live in.

This man has been a role model for me, his constant struggle to survive and learn even though life threw everything at him, our world just lost one of the best humans that walked this earth! He will be missed!

Sort:  

I literally just saw this on my Twitter feed. So sad :(

I just lost one of my two role models... the other one is Elon Musk, godamn i was just about to go to sleep, this world is not fair at all! One of the greatest minds of our time was also one of the ones that most suffered... He will be missed

nod But we can be thankful that he was able to leave a lasting impression such as the one he left on you. He will be missed, but his contributions will be cherished forever.

Goodbye Stephen Hawking. Thank you for your services.
Hopefully will be born again successor like you. 😔

May his soul rest in peace. :( The world loses one of it's brightest jewels.

Your post teutonium is very good and I like it.

I will follow you, you can check my article about EOS Community Update and give me your feedback!

My article EOS Community Update

Keep it up.

This kind of spam is wrong, people should go and see your post because they want to, not because you annoy them enough... next time you promote yourself on my channel you will get flagged, and the worse part is that even though you said you liked it you didn't upvote it or anything, you probably didn't even read it, you won't go far if you continue like this...

Such a shame, although he has far surpassed his estimated life expectancy, I imagine he was relatively contempt in his final days, knowing he has had a long life all things considered.

What's interesting is that he said that he also lived a happier life after getting Motor Neuron Disease, it helped to keep him grounded and focus on what he still could do.

That film is really great, I might watch it again sometime soon too.

I hope that he knew how much he meant to the scientific community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52