You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Aluminothermic Reduction of Iron Ore

in #science6 years ago

Good to see you back here and great work.

I'm really fascinated to see other metals like Chromium, Molybdenum and Cobalt. Somewhere I saw the purity of the metal can benefit if you add a flux to the mixture as well as form the bottom of the cup with a high melting point refractory powder to help pool the metal.

Would love to try this out myself, but 1) too many other priorities 2) you can quickly get into trouble with the police here playing with thermite!

Sort:  

I am interested to see how other metal oxides will interact with the final product as well. I am also curious as to how hard it is going to be to control to carbon content in the final product by adding powdered carbon to the reagents.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64689.27
ETH 3135.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56