You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet The World's Strangest Ants (Part 1/3)

in #science7 years ago

Now that was an interesting article, @trumpman. Well done indeed. I especially liked the defense mechanism, autothysis. I just have to stand back and wonder how evolutionary development led to these little suicide bomber guys. Maybe the additional poison glands arose out of a genetic mutation, and benefited the individual somehow. But then, the social order found a different purpose and imposed some kind of peer pressure on the species to use autothysis to defend the colony. What do you think?

Sort:  

Actually i hadn't thought this from an evolutionary aspect. I have no crazy theory what could have actually pushed such a unique adaptation! Thats a good question I will definitely invest gate it for a future post!

Thanks dude, I appreciate that. I had always believed that evolutionary process favored adaptations that improve the survivability of the individual. Here, it almost looks like it favored one that helps a colony survive. I vaguely remember reading about something similar involving bacteria. The mutation made no sense for the individual, but made total sense for the collective. Unfortunately, I can't recall any further details about it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70586.26
ETH 3763.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79