Halo around the sun - weather today UK - 22 degrees

in #science6 years ago

IMG_3050.JPGToday I saw something that I don't think I've ever seen before - but then I've not really looked for it.

We're all familiar with #rainbows. We all know that if the sun is low, the clouds opposite are dark/showery we are likely to see the beautiful spectral arc of fantasy and fiction - and science of course.

However, how many of you have seen a full circle rainbow around the sun?

Well I for one never knew it was a thing. Today I found out that it is.
IMG_3049.JPG
Better known as The Halo or more scientifically a 22 Degree Halo, the phenomenon occurs apparently when ice crystals in the cirrus clouds passing over and around the sun's light/sphere react to the light. The crystals bend direct sunlight, projecting it elsewhere into the sky, at a 22 degree angle-- causing a halo to be seen around the sun from the earth.
IMG_3052.JPG
I feel very privileged to have seen this, especially as I have gone half a century and never noticed it before.

I was in fact looking to photograph some jets from a nearby airbase. I managed to get one picture (worth looking at ) of a jet, one of a random passenger plane that I couldn't even see with my own eyes, then my attention turned as I caught at first a tiny rainbow then the full on halo.
(for reference I was using my bridge camera - canon powershot SX500IS which has a 30x optical zoom. Awesome on automatic shots for catching planes at over 30 miles away and way high in the sky.)
IMG_3008.JPG
IMG_3013.JPG
Here's some info if you want to look further
earthsky
wikipedia
[university of Illinois](http://ww2010.atmos.uiuc.edu/(Gh)/guides/mtr/opt/ice/halo/22.rxml
I hope you too have learned something new today.

Never stop learning. Never stop sharing.

Sort:  

What a lovely view can't wait to Read more from you

Great Post! Get Auto Upvotes! https://myez.link/upvote Get 0.100 FREE STEEM on Signup!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87