Honey Bee Under The Microscope ๐Ÿ

in #science โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

I remember looking at a bee in class using a stereo microscope. This microscope allows you to view things in 3D close up. I wish I could have afforded both a stereo microscope and compound microscope but this will have to do. So to use a compound microscope to view a thicker/bigger specimen, I required a light source from up top. Here I just used a desk lamp.

Bee.JPG

Before looking at the specimen, I wanted to search up a bit about the parts of the bee so I could focus looking at those particular parts to see if we could find them. Also while I was watching a bee fly from flower to flower, I noticed it holding out what appeared to be bigger hind legs each time it reached a flower. Like a landing guide. Here is a recording of it, see if you can spot the hind legs coming together before each landing.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-03-17-21-28.gif

Because of this, I was more focused on the hind leg to see the structure of it. Upon searching the parts of the bee I noticed something labelled on the hind leg. It was a pollen basket. This was the first time Iโ€™ve heard of a pollen basket on a bee. Looking at the bee with the naked eye, you can see something on the hind leg. Let us look closer.

Picture Source

-----๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-----

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-09-20-31-18.gif

Oh my, you can really see what is stuck to it's leg! Let us look at this pollen basket even closer.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-09-20-34-27.gif

Here I flipped the bee over so we can see the other side of the hind leg.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-09-20-37-06.gif

Oh can you see the end of the leg? It looks very alien like and sharp. How about we get a closer look.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-09-20-37-58.gif

I don't know about you, but that was kinda scary. But here is something that is even more scary. This is the underside of the bee's mouth. I am not too sure what these are, but they look like two big fangs.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-09-20-42-31.gif

-----๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-๐Ÿ-----

Sort: ย 

YOU CAN USE ME NEXT, YOU JUST HAVE TO CATCH ME.

20180410_143851.jpg
Dosent your partner get scared you might put him in the freezer when he's sleeping. lol
These are fascinating shots again.

LOL!

๐Ÿ˜‚ I'm actually prettified of alive insects, my brother actually caught this bee for me and my partner helped to put it into a container for me. I was so scared the bee would somehow get out of the twist jar that I placed it into a zip lock bag. Only then I felt safe.

๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ Don't put ideas into my partner's head. Now I can't ask to buy a big freezer lol

I love insect close-ups. Insects, with their exoskeletons are the ultimate machines

I wish I could find an exoskeleton like you did last time. That would be cool to look under a microscope.

I think the pollen basket is amazing. The bee's mouth does look scary, and that isn't even what they sting you with.

I thought so too, I never knew there was such a thing til now.
I actually tried to look for the stinger but couldn't find it. Must of come off already and thus he died before I could put it in the freezer to put it to sleep ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

I was wondering why you didn't show the stinger.

I'm loving this series. Although killing bees is bad.

I know ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ I feel so bad
But I promise it will only be one bee and it will stay in my awesome collection forever

okay this is my new favourite account! keep it up

The last picture made me mistaken for a mouse, but no beard.

hahaha yes I know what you mean. It does look like it at first glance.

Bees are the most important animals in the world.

Bees are important but I wouldn't say the most important.

Amazing photos of the Micro World. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Thanks Joey

I think the pollen basket is amazing.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.60 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.12
Server time: 10:27:50
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 239.15/200.00
Total Photos: 43
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66330.08
ETH 3331.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70