Damaged Human Hair Under The Microscope 🔬

in #science6 years ago (edited)

damaged hair.JPG

My hair has not been in good condition lately, so I decided to check it out under the microscope. I snipped off three different types of damaged hair. One which is a split end, second is a knot and last is a slightly rough/bendy hair. I made a permanent dry mount when I should have really used a mounting medium.

Did you know your hair you see is actually dead? This is why hair does not decay so easy. The root of your hair is alive, but once it leaves your skin, it becomes dead. That means if you leave you hair at a crime scene, you will not be caught unless you had your hair pulled out from the root. Your DNA can only be found in your hair root.


So what makes up the dead part?

hair diagram.JPG
Hair Diagram - Source

The hair shaft is made of a hard protein called keratin and is made in three layers. This protein is actually dead, so the hair that you see is not a living structure. The inner layer is the medulla. The second layer is the cortex and the outer layer is the cuticle. The cortex makes up the majority of the hair shaft. The cuticle is a tightly formed structure made of shingle-like overlapping scales. It is both the cortex and the medulla that holds the hair's pigment, giving it its color.

Source

Remember GiGi’s hair was saw and the pigmentation forming near the root? That was the medulla.

Okay, time to check my damaged hair out.

Here is a microscopic view of my split end. Eek can you see the damage at the very tip! I did not expect it to look like that. You can see how brittle it is. 😭😭

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-03-21-03-28.gif

Here is a microscopic view of the knot I found in my hair. Oh my there is even a foreign matter stuck in it. It looks like fluff got caught in there. If you look closely at my hair, you can see the medulla. It is not as thick as GiGi's. I would have thought it would fill up more of the space than this.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-03-21-08-16.gif

Lastly here is a microscopic view of the slightly rough hair I had found. We can see how brittle certain parts are where part of the hair is torn.

SmartSelectGIF_2018-04-03-21-10-19.gif

As much as I would love to look after my hair with products, I cannot due to allergies. I can only use one type of shampoo and conditioner. Sometimes I do try to use a better conditioner or treatment to make my hair healthier, but I end up suffering afterwards. I will have to find another way to look after my hair because this looks horrible under the microscope!

Sort:  

hahahah maybe it's a soju hair entangled in yours

😆 probably

This fascinates me. I am always looking for split ends. And how do those knots even get in there?

It beats me 😭 I get a few knots like that in my hair. I'm guessing it happens when I toss and turn a lot during the night.

lolx... thats so cute. Love how genuine all your post are.

😊 Thanks

Interesting, I had no idea that hair was dead once it left your skin. My family and I also suffer with different allergies and have to be careful what we use on our skin, its a real pain.

If your hair was alive you would feel pain each time you got a hair cut 🙀
and yes, your nails are dead too if you were wondering hehehe

Oh my, allergies are the worst!! I feel your pain! 😿

Note: I upvoted myself here to move the comment in the right place, otherwise the conversation wouldn't make sense. It jumbled up after I upvoted @white.tiger's second response.

Yes, of course, that makes total sense. ☺I've heard that you can have your hair tested and that it can tell you a lot about your health. Do you know anything about that?

From my understanding it is only limited vague information you can obtain to sort you into a category. Such as if a hair was found in a crime scene, it will tell you what sort of hair it is, i.e dog hair, human hair, bear hair etc. Or if it is human hair, which group, i.e. Asian, African American etc.

To obtain more information you need the actual root part which contains DNA which could be extracted and tested. But if we are just talking hair, I would say it can tell you something is wrong with your health if there is a sudden dramatic change to your hair. Other than that, there are too many external factors unrelated to health that could make hair healthy/unhealthy.

Also your hair absorbs what is around you. So your hair could test positive for illicit drugs but it doesn't mean you took them.

Remember when Britney Spears went off the rails, wait there were a few times. But when she shaved her hair off. She didn't want to lose custody of her kids. Her ex partner said to her that they could test if you take drugs through you hair because it stays there longer than your system. So she freaked out and shaved it all off. What a silly girl.

One thing I know it definitely tells you about your health is when it starts to go all grey/white. It means you are getting old. lol usually old age grey hair starts from just above the ear area, that's when you know you are starting to get old.

hahaha sorry I don't think I even answered the question and I blabbed on. No I don't know anything about it and I don't believe it can tell you a lot about your health.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #macrophotography

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 11:36:29
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 200.25/200.00
Total Photos: 36
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67895.92
ETH 3743.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64