THE JOY IN MY JOB AND MY TWO DAYS AT BISAGU

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Mahatma Gandhi once said, "service can have no meaning unless one takes pleasure in it."


IMG20171122154039-01-01.jpeg
(Shore of Bisagu, Aparri, Cagayan)

For almost three years I am deployed at Aparri West where I serve rural communities, it has been my pleasure traversing the Cagayan River and China sea to give services to the people.

IMG20170801144223-01-01.jpeg

IMG20180209155559-01.jpeg
(The ordinary mode of transportation I ride on. Warf at Sanja.)

It may sound odd but as a Laboratory Scientist I should work in a hospital laboratory, crime investigation, water analysis, bloodbank, drug analysis or any related practices to my profession. My degree is a prestigious one as far as I know, but instead I chose to stay under the Department of Health Region 2 in its deployment project to fill in the rural health units which does not have Medical Technologists.

IMG20170607120419-01.jpeg

IMG20170607083421-01.jpeg
(With these nurses to assist me)

Many people asked me, "Why do you endure travelling everyday while infact you could just sit, relax, and wait for patients to come in your laboratory?" They have a point. Same question filled my mind.

I too would have given this job during my first months but I came to realize how my job conquered my adventurous side. Well not everybody experiences riding on a boat everyday in sun, in rain, or in typhoon. Exactly! This job is extra ordinary thinking there are people who need my services. The fare may cost heavy but then it's just me compared to the numbers of people I am able to help.

IMG20170607120432-01.jpeg
(A scenery of nostalgia.)

It falls on hitting two birds with one stone. I AM WORKING...ON ADVENTURE AND ON SERVICE. That's so much fun for me rather than sitting inside the laboratory and dealing with uneasy and peppery bosses and colleagues. People in rural communities are kinder! I vouch for it.

IMG20170607105101-01.jpeg
(The kind of lunch they give you.)

You may ask how about my salary, yes it's very compensating, it's higher than any institutions offering for contractuals but without benefits and bonuses...it is a no string attached policy where there is NO EMPLOYEE-EMPLOYER RELATIONSHIP.


FIRST DAY

With my laboratory equipment (Microscope, Centrifuge, Microhematocrit Centrifuge, and different kits) I came to conquer BISAGU together with the nurses incharge of Bisagu.

IMG20171122092018-01.jpeg
(On my way. I would appreciate nature.)

20171122_132515-01.jpeg

20171122_132931-01.jpeg
(Here we start pricking!)

I called the midwife of Bisagu prior to the day of my travel to inform the Barangay Captain, Barangay Nutrition Scholar, and the Barangay Health Workers to disseminate to their constituents about my existence so they would be able to go fasting and check their Blood Glucose, Blood Uric Acid, and Total Blood Cholesterol.

Along with FBS, BUA, and TC I also included Random Blood Sugar for those who weren't able to fast, and Blood Typing for those who don't know their blood type and for those who don't remember or unsure of it. Blood Pressure Monitoring was also included. By the way, age bracket was 25 and up.

Pregnant women were also checked and catered services for pre-natal check ups to include Complete Blood Count, Blood typing, and Urinalysis. The nurses also interviewed these pregnant women and wrote on their journals for monitoring.

All high risks individuals were listed and advised to undergo monitoring and further consultation for any medications or maintenance drugs.

20171122_095038-01.jpeg

20171122_094952-01.jpeg
(Change outfit for my shirt was wet with sweat.)

After the tests, I lectured about Hypertension and Diabetes to educate them on how they could develop it and how they could control it. In that case, I was able to check and clarify things about their wrong practices.

I also instructed them to collect first morning stool of their 4 to 10 years old sons and daughters then I provided them with salad cups for their convenience.


SECOND DAY

20171123_135001-01.jpeg
(The stools are waiting!)

Barangay Bisagu is an estuary. Most of its people belong among the poorest of the poor. Communal comfort rooms are common. And the water system is difficult.

The reason why I wanted to check on the stool of children age 4 - 10 years old was to prove the existence of Soil Transmitted Helminthiasis at the barangay, seeing children bare-footed and eating with soiled hands.

20171123_094608-01.jpeg

20171123_094541-01.jpeg

I lectured first about Soil Transmitted Helminthiasis and on how they could help their sons and daughters avoid this disease with the aid of their guidance, because children are naturally playful and clumsy.

20171123_100818-01.jpeg
(These nurses want to peep under microscope too.)

After the lecture and fecalysis, I have proven the existence of STH among the children of Bisagu. Out of 140 stools I tested, there were 97 positive of helminths' ova.

Here I share with you photos under microscope on High Power Objective, 400x magnification.

I used Normal Saline Solution as suspension for stool. Direct fecal smear is the most convenient method available for fecalysis.

20171123_102422-01.jpeg
Ascaris lumbricoides ova

20171123_110942-01.jpeg
Still Ascaris lumbricoides ova

20171123_104549-01.jpeg
Three Ascaris lubricoides ova

20171123_134015-01.jpeg
Hookworm ova

20171123_110619-01.jpeg
Hookworm ova

20171123_111720-01.jpeg
My favorite...Trichuris trichiura.

20171123_104327-01.jpeg
Many Ascaris lumbricoides under Low Power Objective 100x magnification.

Ascaris lumbricoides, Hookworm, and Trichuris trichiura are dubbed as bestfriends. These three have same culprit SOIL. If one of them is present look for the other two. The superinfection of these three has a high tendency. I actually saw one stool with the three parasites.

I gave the results to the midwife of the barangay and scheduled a deworming day for every children.

It is easy to deworm, but we need to speciate the parasites to be able to determine the different measures and hygienic practices that need to be changed or corrected.

Told goodbyes to the people of Bisagu especially to its officials then we commenced.

IMG20171122153914-01.jpeg
(Walk at the shore of Bisagu.)


My two days at Barangay Bisagu was tiring...but fulfilling.

People of Bisagu were very welcoming and accommodating far from urbane individuals. They are kind and simple. They may have less but they are fortunate and blessed with moral essence.

I thought I was the one giving service to them but these people made me realize that this world we are living has still goodness waiting to be discovered again and to be propagated.

One of the most beautiful things we can do is to help one another, because kindness is priceless, and kindness is everything we could all offer.

In the end, I want to instill in you that the service which is rendered without joy helps neither the servant nor the served.

Let us all help one another!


Always I am thankful to you sir @surpassinggoogle Godbless always.

Please support the Smart Media Token @teardrop project by Sir @surpassinggoogle and follow https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens on Facebook.

Please also support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Kudos to Human Resource for Health team! This is why we exert the best effort we can give so that Filipinos can attain the best possible health outcome with no disparity. We also work hard in order to achieve a responsive health care system for the Filipinos to feel respected, valued and empowered. The challenge on this kind of job is to keep yourself available 24/7, rain or shine because you do not know when you will be needed. Besides, you are also bound to mingle with different people from all walks of life with diverse level of understanding. You are also at risk to different types of diseases since it is hard to identify who is the real patient and carrier in the field. Aside from guts and strong heart, passion to this profession is paramount. Great post sir!👍

Thank you very much sir. I love how you agree...very profound.

Great story! I love that you'd rather go out in the field to help those who otherwise might not get any care. Also love your closing statements about being kind to each other and how finding joy in what you are doing makes it better and more important. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you very much for appreciating my story. Indeed it is very fulfilling.

Nice!
Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70453.17
ETH 3808.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51