Lumbricus Terrestris - The Earthworm (Dissection!)

in #science7 years ago

graphic-content.png

I’m still very, very busy. 10 hours a day, I’m on campus. 2 hours a day, I do stuff for my lab practical and I kind of try to sleep 8 hours at least. That leaves 4 hours to shower, eat, relax and … write something up for Steemit.

I’m doing my best but especially the fiction stories need a lot of concentration (even more so if they contain something scientific). I hope you enjoy my other stuff anyway, even if it’s sometimes a bit shorter!

Today, I’ll present you another animal I dissected a while ago: The Earthworm, lumbricus terrestris!

Bought from a fishing shop, these specimens were destined to be eaten alive. We killed them by pouring a mixture of ethanol and formaldehyde over them to give them a quick and hopefully painless death.

IMG-20170712-WA0012.jpg

Dissecting the earthworm was kind of satisfying because everything looks just so … in order.
The worm consists of mostly homologous sections, that’s why only the upper part is cut open in the picture.@suesa

At the very tip, there should be the brain but it’s so tiny that you probably can’t really see it. It’s below the pink pin, a little bit to the left. Two tiny, white dots.

Can you see the pink-ish stuff between the yellow and the black pin at the top? That’s the pharynx which connects mouth and esophagus of the worm. From there on a grey-ish brown tissue goes all the way straight down, that’s the intestines.

The yellow-ish “balloons” are the so called seminal vesicles which are right above the non-visible seminal receptacles. Do you know what that implies?

The Earthworm is both male and female. Some animals that are both can inseminate themselves. The Earthworm can’t, that’s why it needs the seminal receptacles: They collect the “sperm” from another earthworm.

Below that it’s just organs for digestion, nothing spectacular.

On the sides, you can see thin, white lines. Those are the segments you can see from the outside. Between them are, also not visible, the metanephridia which are basically the worm’s kidneys.

Now, to some fun facts!

The common earthworm can live up to 6 years, so if you give your kid one when they graduate they can have a great pet throughout college!

All around its body, the worm has tiny bristles which it uses to move. They also feel very interesting if you try to pet a dry worm. We were strongly advised to take off our gloves and feel the worm when we were working with it in the lab.

In the USA, there are several invasive earthworm species brought over from Europe and Asia which has effects just as harmful as other invasive species. In Minnesota, there aren’t even any native earthworms. They were probably ground to death by glaciers. I’m serious, look it up in the source I linked below.


Sources:

Common Earthworm

Invasive Earthworms

Stuff I learned during the lab practical


*Picture was taken by me *


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

You did it great @suesa. Earthworms are ideal specimens to use for teaching basic anatomy

lol good post @suesa can i ask you a question some #earthworms can move in the both sides how could this happen ???

I try to learn one new thing each day.... i just did todays!
I'm not sure what use it is to me, as I've never wondered about the insides of a worm. But there you have it, fascinating!

I think learning things you never wondered about is even better!

Absolutely!
Never know when that knowledge may come in handy!
And learning different stuff is more interesting anyhow, stretches mind in a different way!

That's awesome, I've never seen a dissected earthworm before!

I actually did a post on the ecology of invasive earthworms in North America a while back. (I'm a big ecology buff.)

I remembered that but was too lazy to look it up and link it :P
So thanks for doing it in my stead!

Tho the picture grossed me out abit at first, when i look at it now its kind of fasanating! ^^

Also i learnd some new stuff... awesome! Keep up the sience! ^^

I find that understanding more about something often makes the things I previously had no interest in absolutely fascinating! Whoo hoo! Education!

Earth worm for a pet .. let me think about this for a second ... NO :P

Another interesting post, you sound like you have a tough but fascinating job. I like the coloured pins, not sure I would enjoy holding the worms though... Like you I work too much, 50 hour+ weeks, I agree we gotta keep original quality content coming in, but as someone still fairly new it is really hard to get noticed and at times disheartening (as it takes allot to put up a proper post). I may end up just having to vote to support :)

I wasn't aware that earthworms could live up to 6 years until I read this post. I would love to see a story about how snails reproduce.

In Europe Lumbricus terrestris it is the largest naturally occurring species of earthworm, typically reaching 20 – 25 cm in length when extended (though in parts of southern Europe, the native species are much larger). In September 2012, a specimen was found in SW China measuring roughly 50 cm in length. In May 2016 a worm was found that was about 61cm long. It has an unusual habit of copulating on the surface at night, which makes it more visible than most other earthworms.

Good Info...

wow you have cought monster from the stranger things

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63