You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Observing the universe with super large stratospheric balloons

in #science7 years ago

If the balloon did go up you'll see that The earth is flat and there are no satellites. Everything is done with towers and fiber optic cable run underground and water. Why cant we see any satellites from the ISS or any of the massive amounts of space junk? Do you have pictures from the balloon mission?

Sort:  

I am not working on this, so that the answer is no: I don't have pictures myself. You may want to browse the websites given as references. There are actually plenty of pictures available. What I can do on my side is to read the reports an the scientific findings (that I can actually understand since this is close to what I am myself working on). They make sense to me. These scientific publications are freely available and you can read to build your opinion out of them. You may however need to be patient for the new results. Scientists need time to digest them and write the articles.

The answer of the other question is in one word: 'scales'. The scale of the space junk pieces is tiny compared to the scale of the planet. The same holds for the satellites and the ISS. Their orbit is designed to prevent them from crossing each other. It is better to avoid collisions, isn't it? Just calculate the volume of the space junks, as well as the one surrounding the planet. You will see. To rephrase that: In the same way that if you flight sufficiently high, you will not be able to distinguish the very little details on the ground.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53