Unsual Sky or was it

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I thought the sky looked really weird, though to be honest I don't normally take much notice of the sky. The clouds looked like they had been arranged in some way, like they had been duplicated or something. It got me so intrigued I thought I'd look up clouds on the Internet. Well I had heard of a few such as Cirrus and Stratus, but was surprised to learn there are ten basic cloud types, I have the pictures of them here copied from the National Weather Service website.

http://www.srh.noaa.gov/jetstream/clouds/cloudwise/types.html

You can find excellent descriptions of each type of cloud on their website, I have only copied the images here.

So here is a picture (not as great as it looked in real life) from my back garden see if you can identify which cloud type it belongs to.

Back Garden in South East England

10 Basic Cloud Types

1. Cirrus

2. Cirrostratus

3. Cirrocumulus

4. Altostratus

5. Altocumulus

6. Nimbostratus

7. Cumulus

8. Stratus

9. Cumulonimbus

10. Stratocumulus

I am going with Altocumulus I think it was pretty easy really wasn't it, now I am not sure how common this type of cloud is but I'll be taking at lot more interest in trying to spot the other types of cloud from now on.

Sort:  

These images are beautiful Mother Nature is something great . Thank you for breaking this down for me. I really appreciate this content and your research I really found this post educational and I will be looking forward to reading future post from you .

Nice shot @stimp1024. 3 and 5 no. Picture is awesome.

The altocumulus one - in Indonesia, when the sky is like so, ppl believe it's a good sign for fishermen. There would be tons of fish easy to spot and catch when the sky is like that, supposedly 😊

Wow! Nice post on this one. I recommend steemstem to you if you always post science blogs. Steemstem can help you get more exposure join https://steemit.chat/channel/steemSTEM
Am also in the group though. Goodluck. I hope to see you

This post has received a 13.59 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @stimp1024.

I never realized that cluds can be so pretty!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50