Peer Review Gatekeepers in Journals

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Peer reviewed journals have become the most influential mode of transmitting new scientific ideas; almost necessary in order for an idea to be even considered. When a paper receives peer reviewed acceptance, it means it has passed through the gauntlets of testing from experts in the fields.

The problem with this method being looked to as "essential" is that it provides no room for these peer reviewer's ignorance. Certainly, experts are extremely well-established in their fields and have spent much time and energy learning what is commonly accepted within each field. However, new ideas that are outside of the general thought patterns are so drastically limited that it is nearly impossible for them to be earnestly considered. This unintended consequence leads to ideas being stifled by people simply not considering that which has not already been considered. This limits scientific progress because it prevents new ideas from being heard.

For example, it is very easy to publish a paper that is in line with what a journal generally publishes, reiterating more of the same. It is very difficult to publish a paper that counterargues what a journal generally publishes.

Additionally, due to the academic nature of peer-reviewed work, it is nearly impossible for a paper to receive earnest consideration when it is written by one individual. In other words, if the author is not in a position of academia or professional employment within the field, and is a "pro se" filer, then their work does not go through the same rigors of editing and insuring it fits within the confines of what a journal will deem appropriate to publish.

Moreover, when a journal chooses to publish an idea, they have the rights to charge people for the knowledge. In this way, information is drastically limited to only select few. So, even if an idea does get through the gatekeeper process of peer-review, having jumped through all the hurdles of acceptance, it still is limited by a journal's publication methods.

Three years ago, after initial efforts to publish through peer reviewed journals and realizing how close-minded the peer review process was, I chose to publish my own research online and face the long and hard battle of having my work being taken seriously. I knew, though, that I had an opportunity to help shed light on the flaws of the ways we do things by publishing my research on my own. This is because my research paper, which I called The Universal Principle of Natural Philosophy, is the actual "Theory of Everything."

It may not be as easy for it to get any attention as if I were to do everything in my power to get a respected journal to publish it, but I do not agree with limiting the free flow of information.

Sort:  

Hi Steve very cool post I see you doing very well on steemit keep it up bro and I see you next year in SD!

Appreciate this very easy to read summary of how it really is @stevescully I first dove into the health aspect of science back in 1996 for my own personal benefit, to save my life. In 1999 however I began diving down the proverbial "rabbit hole" because of what I was finding. You are so right, we are extremely limited on information we desperately need. In a perfect world it may not be needed, unfortunately we do not yet have that world. I am posting this to my social network research groups because I know your article with resonate with many there. Thank you for all you do. I am following. Let peace be the journey! @vickiebarker

Groundbreaking work has historically been ignored as it can destroy existing ideas and all the establishments based on it. Your path is not easy but full respect, good luck

Agreed; luckily we live in the time of the internet when ideas can be transmitted to a diverse and wide audience much faster. Thanks! Much appreciated.

After reading this, only one word is coming to my mind...scientism. Word that describes religion which science become. Like you said, little or no new ideas are allowed in science community. Everything that is outside of accepted reality is dissmised by reflex action. That is not how scientist would behave, that is how people with stubborn beliefs behave.

And btw I'm glad to find you on Steemit. Scrolled thru your articles, read few of them and must say I agree with most you say. Thank mate, keep it up! :)

Thanks, appreciated!! :D

I agree, science has definitely become its own religion, and just like any other religion, some people learn the dogma of the religion and then hold it as absolutes. I look at it as "jumping ahead", not taking the time to think things through but accepting an idea as fact without thought and then beginning the process of education. In this way, people can become extremely educated in all the why's of current beliefs while having no real inkling that it is built on a critically flawed foundation because they've already moved past that stage of analysis. In the same way, religious beliefs are built on assumptions that, if we jump ahead and do not take the time to reflect on them, can be accepted as truths and given no thought as people learn all the intricacies of the belief systems viewed as absolutes. To me, there are absolutes and its just a matter of taking as slow and cautious of a step-by-step approach to determine what those absolutes are, using logic and unbiasedly as many sources of information as possible.

My research paper I mentioned above is called The Universal Principle of Natural Philosophy which is an ode to Isaac Newton's Mathematical Principles of Natural Philosophy, whose work it stems from, but more importantly to me it is specifically an intentional attempt to point out that science has separated from philosophy when the two must be used in congruence with one another in order to make sense of things. Science is the study of nature without its philosophical consideration, just another indication of our tendency towards trying to force things, including understanding.

There are many things worth considering in this post. As someone involved in academic research, I'm familiar with some of the sentiments you've described. One of my colleagues was told by one of his reviewers (after submitting a paper for publication) that he had "set back the field of thermodynamics by 100 years." Journal reviewers may often have conflicts of interest if a paper presents research that he or she is currently working on. There are many things to consider, but I would agree with the points you make here. As to the subscription costs, I published a blog about that exact subject last week. Thanks for sharing. This was well worth my time to read.

Thanks for reading and sharing your insight! I just checked out your blog post but I'll comment about that there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84