You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Antarctic voyage!

in #science7 years ago

That is absolute gorgeous photographs, I did not know that you could travel to Antarctica, I assume it was in summer, can't imagine someone who volunteers to travel to south pole as a tourist in winter :)

Sort:  

Thank you. There is a cruise ship that goes down there...but it isn't how my wife does it. She's a marine biologist with the British Antarctic Survey. She's been down there four times already on the RSS James Clark Ross, but she's also just been given the position of Lab Manager on the RSS Sir David Attenborough (AKA Boaty McBoatface)! So she'll be down there a lot more. (Can you tell I'm a little bit proud of her!?) :-D

WOW, that is really impressive, I can't even imagine that such people exist outside of documentary movies :) You really can be proud of your wife. You are going to miss her, are you planning to come along?

Yes, I think the same thing about her. Someone from a documentary. I tell her she's my hero because she's literally saving the planet. Although she gets embarrassed when I say things like that!
I will miss her. She'll be away for 3 months at a time, but it's been like this most of the time we've been together. Although we did think we were finally going to settle down in Scotland this year. But that's all changed now she's heading back to Antarctica.
I won't get to go to Antarctica itself, but she does want me to fly down to the Falkland Islands for a holiday. That's sort of their home base for going to Antarctica. It's like another Scotland in the Southern Hemisphere. All four seasons in one day!

That everything sound so interesting, I think I would not be able to do such job like your wife, and I can imagine how it must be for you to be apart for three months, tough! I heard a lot about Falkland island of course, never been there, hope there are many nice area to see around.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57972.96
ETH 2357.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36