You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: People Are NOT Born Afraid of Snakes (Or Other "Creepy Crawlies")

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Now I can blame my parents for my snake and spider phobias. I knew it wasn't my fault.

For me in a major city, you'll regularly see rats, mice, and cockroaches near garbage bags on the sidewalk or on the subway tracks. Sounds gross, but it's the norm. They're just trying to survive as pariahs of the earth, so I respect their resilience. While I don't have any fear of those pests, it's comical to see how people react when they come in sight of them. A lot of women act in sheer terror and uncontrollably freak out.

Now I can't say much more because that's how I am with snakes. Spiders not nearly as much since they move slowly, are small, and... don't slither (shiver). Spiders are also more common, so I've been bit desensitized to them from growing up in a rural area. But, the panic a little furry mouse that's running for its life into a tiny crack in a wall can cause calloused business people in their designer clothes is hilarious.

*Perfect Indiana Jones reference.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57774.35
ETH 2339.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44