You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can science answer moral questions? I don't think so

in #science7 years ago (edited)

I am not a huge Sam Harris fan because he takes things too far in the name of science sometimes like the recent fascination with Charles Murray and scientific racism. I think what he is saying here is that human morality can be measured and he uses the example of the effects of child abuse on psychological health. He is saying that well-being, health and reduction of suffering is moral and is measurable and is even more measurable now that human cultures are getting closer and closer. I think it's a pretty simple concept and I don't think it spins out into large questions of philosophy and mathematics. Thank you for the interesting conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51