You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Science Just Another Religion?: 21st Century Dogma, Faith in Science and the Cult of Objectivity

in #science7 years ago

I think the problem you are outlining seems to be more relevant regarding a socio-cultural phenomenon of "scientism" rather than science as a discipline. Any centralized social institution will degenerate into bureaucratic fiefdom given enough time and money, and modern scientific institutions are no exception to this inevitability. I don't think most scientists believe in scientism; Dr. Richard Dawkins is likely to be a rare exception among his circle.

I agree that scientific method is a tool that is useful for specific questions regarding our environment. Scientific method inductive reasoning, but the publication paradigm that necessitates mathematical statistics favors deductive reasoning. I think scientists do fall into the trap of using mathematical deductive reasoning in formulation of hypothetical postulates and confusing it with inductive scientific method. The multiverse hypothesis is one such example; a postulation that can never be tested, thus is non-inductive in reasoning and not scientific. Yet, how many lay folks think multiverse is a "scientific hypothesis"?

I am reminded of an old video game quote, "Will we next build false gods to rule over us? How proud we have become. And how blind." (Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri). I think some in the lay public has indeed replaced old religion for scientism, but I don't think science itself is the problem.

Sort:  

I agree! This is why I made the distinction Science (n) vs science (v). We can look at Science (n) as scientism... I think science (v) is useful in determining some more-accuracies of our natural world. However, it is not the only tool. Some truths are purely subjective. (if not all...)

So, I think the tool (which can be one tool of many) of science (v) is overused, it's conclusions treated too concrete.

"I agree that scientific method is a tool that is useful for specific questions regarding our environment. Scientific method inductive reasoning, but the publication paradigm that necessitates mathematical statistics favors deductive reasoning. I think scientists do fall into the trap of using mathematical deductive reasoning in formulation of hypothetical postulates and confusing it with inductive scientific method."

Absolutely agree!

"Will we next build false gods to rule over us? How proud we have become. And how blind." (Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri). I think some in the lay public has indeed replaced old religion for scientism, but I don't think science itself is the problem."

Beautiful! I agree science (v) in and of itself is a wonderful tool. It only becomes a religion/belief/problem when it purports to be the sole bearer and method of discerning truth when it becomes Science (n) (scientism).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62274.69
ETH 3366.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43