Steemit for StudentssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science7 years ago (edited)

notes

Spreading the Benefits of Education


Formal education is often a simple exchange: professors teach students, and students turn in work to their professor. Yet as a student I want to share the things that I learn and the work I create more widely. Since what I'm studying is useful and interesting to me, perhaps it might interest friends, family, or even strangers.

Education on the Blockchain


Steemit is a great platform for students to share work. Here, students can easily publish their most interesting notes and essays. This enriches the online community and can also enhance the student's academic life by rewarding good content and facilitating feedback from a large audience.

Right now I'm a neuroscience student in my last year of a Bachelor's program at a major research university. Throughout the semester I will be regularly posting about some of my classes, described below. Hope there's something that piques your interest!

Fall 2017 Series Topics



brain

1. Neuroimaging Research

I am doing an independent research project that will investigate the relationship between decision making behavior and blood flow in different regions of the human brain, which is associated with local brain activity. Neuroimaging research is fascinating and I am excited to share my research process with the Steemit community.

2. Archaeology in American History

This class entails weekly trips to several historical locations and excavation sites, centering around American History. After each trip, I will write a journal for the professor and also post it here!

3. Neurobiology

This course focuses on the molecular and cellular mechanisms that make up behavior. While this course will mainly focus on incredibly specific biology, I will post the most interesting tidbits here.

4. Health and Incarcerated Women

This course focuses on the historical and social trends affecting the incarceration of women, and the health needs specific to this population. With other students, I will create and present a workshop on the prevention and treatment of common health conditions, such as diabetes and sexually transmitted infections.


handcuffs


Stay tuned!

I'm eager to explore being a student on Steemit, and hope it will
bring some useful information to the community. Steem on!

follow_somethingburger.gif

Sort:  

Hi. thanks for replying on my post which allowed me to follow over to yours. This looks and sounds interesting. I've sort of had the same approach with carrying over some of the topics from my university classes into posts...it's a natural transition and a good way to reflect on what we're learning.

I'll certainly be following you. The neurimaging project sounds really interesting.

Thanks, @stats-n-lats! I think it's a simple and practical approach to sharing. I'm following you as well, hope we can exchange some good lessons!

Curious to learn more on all courses! Maybe one day there will be a Steemit Academy? Looking forward to more somethingburgers...

Many thanks, @voronoi! Glad you're interested. PS If my posts are somethingburgers, are your posts voronoise?

The Sam Harris podcast has me itching for more neuroscience.... looking forward to your future posts on Steemit :-)

Happy to hear it, because there will definitely be neuroscience, @heymattsokol!

Well greetings I really love neuroscience I hope we can see more neuro related articles from you I kindly welcome you !

Thanks @steeminator3000! I've got some neuro on the way :)

All the courses seem very interesting but I'm also more fascinated by neuroscience as I work in neuropsychology! I'll follow you and keep track of your posts! Thank you. Resteemed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56