Giant Puffball or the Elusive White Truffle?

in #science6 years ago

Alt Text

I've been paying close attention to a particular oak tree on my walks lately. The ground has been uneven and there have been some fruiting bodies coming up from the root system.

In all likelihood it's a type of puffball. The dark flesh is centered and not really all that marbled. And it was peeking above the ground, something that truffles never do, as far as I can tell.

However, I found out that wild truffles can fetch you around $1000 dollars a kilo, and is a fairly untapped market on Vancouver Island. I think it's time to train Moe to do something useful with his nose.

Sort:  

Put that damn dog to work!

Also -- find me some fun mushrooms, preferably the kind where I don't die.

Yes train Moe to do something useful period!!!! Doooo itt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76