You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fun with Fermentation

in #science6 years ago

I love fermented foods so much that I used to host a fermented foods potluck that I called Cultured Club! It was really a lot of fun.

I mostly make saurkrauts, salsas, and kombucha.

What I always found so interesting about fermeting is that there is a fine line between safely fermented and hazardously rotten. If you get the salt balance wrong, or introduce a contaminant, let too much air in, or have any food material above the level of your brine, you have a big rotten mess as opposed to a delicious fermented health tonic. Ideally, we are creating the perfect environment for the RIGHT organisms to grow, while creating an environment inhospitable to the ones that would make us sick :) Cool food science for sure!

Sort:  

I like your comment, it is really wonderful!

Haha thanks! followed you to see what you are all about!

Always welcome! Nice to have you on board!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61272.24
ETH 3371.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46