Why Multitasking is actually making you LESS productive!

in #science7 years ago


Nowadays, everything has to be done as quickly as possible.

We check our social media while making coffee, talk on the phone on our way to work, check our emails while in a meeting, browse the web while eating lunch or listening to a co-worker and go online shopping while watching TV.

Sounds familiar?

We have gotten so used to technology giving us access to everything immediately, we want our brains to function the same way.
So we try to multitask - we operate with different tasks at once and feel like we can get so much more done

Well, recent studies have shown that Multitasking is actually not as productive as we thought.

When we multitaks, we have the impression of executing several tasks simultaneously - right?


But this is what actually happens in our Brain:

We constantly switch from one task to another, and do everything for just a few seconds.

Our Brain can't really do several things at once.

It can simply create the illusion.
After every tiny step we complete, our brain's reward system is being activated and releases dopamine.
This makes us feel like we have already accomplished so much, but in reality we got almost nothing done and were much slower than usual.
When we try to multitask, our cortisol levels actually increase as well - this stress hormone is being released due to the constant pressure, and makes us feel exhausted earlier.



So is Multitasking really slowing us down?

Yes, probably.
Scientists suggest that the constant switching between tasks also uses up our brain's activity, so in the end it makes us complete those tasks at a slower pace.
Real multitasking can only be done if one of the tasks can be run on autopilot - for example walking. But even then, we sometimes struggle.
Only 2% of the world population are so-called "supertaskers" and can really complete several tasks at once.
A study from the University of London has even shown that it can even lower your IQ up to 15 points, and decrease your mental abilities to the level of an 8-year old!


What could we do instead of multitasking to improve our performance?

Of course the most important tip would be to focus on one task only. But we know that this can be quite hard to do in real life.
That's why you should manage your time wisely, make a to-do list, and prioritize.

You should plan 3-4 "power-working" slots in your day - time intervals of 30-60 minutes where you only do work, nothing else.

If you're really serious about this, you should even switch off your electronic devices for these time slots.
To help you focus, you should either work in complete silence, or listening to calming music (preferrably classical or instrumental) with noise-canceling headphones (especially when you have co-workers talking around you).

In a daily life situation, this won't go as smoothly as planned - you will probably get interrupted at some point. And that's okay, you just know how to deal with it.
So if someone interrupts your work flow, try to finish at least part of your task before switching to something else.
Or write down a quick note to help you remember your thoughts or what you were planning to do before you got interrputed.


So the next time you're feeling stressed or overwhelmed, try planning your time effectively and prioritizing instead of wanting to finish everything at once!




Images: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6



- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 

© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

Yes this a really good post because it is something I believe we all go through everyday without even knowing it. And this post not only tells you how it is bad for you but ways to try and prevent it. This post was just a relief for me to read because I do suffer from multitasking myself.

Thank you for your feedback! Glad to hear that you enjoyed my post :)

Good post. Yes multitasking is a myth. I can recommend the book "One Thing" which goes into more detail on why multitasking isn't effective. One of my favorite books actually.

This! ^ ^ I've heard the same thing.

That book sounds very interesting, thanks for the input!

Thank you! Today is my first day on the site, and I was hoping people would be posting helpful content.. this was. I drink a lot of caffeine. A LOT.. like pots of guayusa (the best tea in the world) every day. So much so that I travel with a coffee maker in my carry-on because it's the best way to brew guayusa.. sorry back to my point lol. Though I'm slower without caffeine, I think I actually get more done without it. I think no caffeine helps me stay focused. You've motivated me to try a caffeine free break for a little while.

Well first of all, welcome to Steemit!
Glad to have you here and that you enjoyed my post.
Seems like you really love your coffeine, I'll actually write a post about that in the future as well.
It can be quite true that you get more done without it.. your body gets used to it and just makes you think that you need it to function "properly".
Try going without it for a few days and instead drinking lots of cold water/lemon water, and start writing organized to-do lists so you don't have to stress over multitasking!

Good information but I find myself doing several things at once too often.

Yes, I feel like a have the same problem sometimes. Thank you, however, for this very interesting article.

Happy to hear that you liked it :)
Yes it can be quite easy to gradually get into multitasking at busy times!

I think I have had multi-tasking burn out at times. Now I write a 'to do' list and allocate times, far less stressful!

Very good approach! Much more organized and calm instead of trying to finish everything at once in a rush.

You end up spending time deciding which one to do first and worrying about the others not done too much. That's why unproductive.

Ha, very true. Good point

The statistic that we check our phones an average of 150 times a day is scary! Nice post.

Thank you!
And yes that's really quite shocking. I bet most teens / people of the younger generation check it even more often.

Multi-tasking is awful. It's astounding to me people still wear it as a badge of honor. I started single tasking 6 years ago and haven't looked back since. Single-tasking and setting a small number of priorities each day are my two keys to maximizing productivity while simultaneously reducing stress. My gratitude for helping spread the word'

Great graphics!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55