Sort:  

Haha, no need to worry indeed, 50% is still left

I don't know of any citation for the banana statistic. It's quoted a lot but where does it come from, and what similarity is being referred to? Genes?

"Some of the things that these genes code for are basic biochemistry:

DNA replication. Transcription. Translation. Catabolism, some anabolism. Lots of DNA metabolism (recombination, repair).

A lot of basic constituents of animal and plant cells are very similar (e.g. most organelles, chromatin, actin/microtubules)

Regulation of the cell cycle, mitosis and everything that is part of that is very similar.

There is a lot more to mention if we would go into more detail."

  • Chris Dinant, Cell biologist

That doesn't at all answer the question. :) It's too general. Of course there are a variety of genetic differences between a banana and a human. My question was pertaining specifically to the 50% number, if its saying that there is a 50% gene similarity between a human and a banana it's likely wrong. As I cited elsewhere, we only share 40% of genes with a drosophila, which is at least an animal. I don't suspect that genetic similarities will be higher between us and a plant, which is further divergent on the tree of life (then is the fruit fly).

As a whole biology is not my strength ... I'm just inquisitive and I've read posts on this topic several times over the years. I also know that in England they use this fact to keep children in biology. I am certain that there is somewhere in the scientific explanation exactly how and why these 50%

I sort of suspect that it's more of a generalization then a truly factual number. The concept is true obviously, but I don't know if the number is precise in this case. However I am not certain as I have not been able to find a publication listing what the number is... :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67