You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk About Renewable Energy #1: Hydropower

in #science7 years ago

My country has 40% of electricity generated by hydro power but believe me it is not easy. let me tell you the reasons.

  1. you need to have consistent water supply throughout the year. (but its not the case - summer no water , in rainy time too much water and it create huge problems with mud extracting through tunnels . winter - lakes are frozen )

  2. Very Costly to install. - You have to carve a tunnel through a lake. and lake should build by a river which have constant water supply.

  3. Your power generation is static.

True . After initial investment . its going to be less maintenance. still with my life experience other power options have much more reliability than hydropower

subd :)

Sort:  

Thanks for leaving a comment! Surely there are always exceptions. Mind if I ask where are you from? :D

I am from Sri lanka

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64010.98
ETH 2791.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65