You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello, STEEMIT: Let's Talk About IQ

in #science7 years ago

I've always had a question about the "regression to the mean" thing, because, in part at least, it seems to go against the rules of evolution.

Heritable mutations which are advantageous are supposed to propagate. And ethnic groups formed somehow. So if everything is regressing to the mean then other things don't make a lot of sense. Perhaps I'm applying this regression to too large a grouping, but I've never heard anyone address this in a satisfying way.

Also, there is such a thing as familial traits. Certain families are known for certain abilities. Mozart, for example, didn't just come out of nowhere: he was a genius from a family of skilled craftsmen, artists, and composers. There are many examples of this. It's where the whole idea of nobility comes from.

Hsu actually talks about that in this interview when he describes "strata" within populations. Very interesting and something which I'd like to learn more.

After interacting with you and reading your posts, I would say that the test you took was not accurate and I would encourage you to retest if you want a better idea of your capabilities.

Yes, I would say I'm closer to 100 than 110 lol. I'm thinking that the Mensa test might be the one for me.

It is true that some people are much better at drooling on themselves than others, and that there are some people who can get humans to the moon with a slide rule and a few pieces of paper.

My wife had to ask me what I was laughing about when I read that!! HAhaah!

Sort:  

The positive heritable mutations create proliferation of types, while the regression is an inhibitory function. Both are happening at once. Outliers do not always do well. The exceptionally stupid do stupid things and don't survive. The exceptionally brilliant have been, often, driven out of social populations, or burned as witches.

Without trying to blow smoke, I would start guessing at 110 and go up. Go hang out with some Mensa members and you'll see. I think Mensa entry is set at 132 for the Stanford–Binet , and 148 for the Cattell test. some of the lower end are not that apparently bright. If I were forced to bet, I'd say the Dunning-Kruger effect has fooled you into doubting yourself. You may want to test more to find out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56989.27
ETH 2425.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39