Sort:  

Thanks for reading. :) I did not come across any list of ant species that communicate using sounds. The Wikipedia article on stridulation talks about fire ants and there are quite a few articles about the leafcutting ants communicating with sound. The studies I have seen have focused mostly on a single species and then did experiments within that group. I am sure there must be more information about it out there. Let me know if you come across it!

Look - I found this..an article on #ANTS by sciencemag.org :

http://www.sciencemag.org/news/2013/02/shhh-ants-are-talking

INTERESTING shit - there are SOME ants that have a special 'spike' under the abdomen; and they stroke this w/ their hind leg [to call for help.. or 'sound' the alarm' when in Danger ]

Adults in the ant genus 'Myrmica' make noise, the post explains

WIKI POST for further elaboration:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ant#Communication

Also: Did u know ..the sting OF Jack Jumper ants can be lethal

Yes, the sciencemag.org article is quite interesting. In fact, I linked to that article from my text too. As for the list of ant genera that make these sounds, the sciencemag article mentions Myrmica, and there are other genera such as Solenopsis mentioned on the Wikipedia article on stridulation, but I think we were trying to talk about how common it is across all ants. Thanks for stopping by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48