You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit on Dopamine, a Way Forward: My Anniversary Post

in #science5 years ago

Now THAT I call an anniversary post. I found it very informative, and I completely agree: Steemit should aim at incentivizing engagement with more than just money to get that sustainable "machine".

However, STEEM as a blockchain is more than just Steemit. It's not just blogging and social media, but also app development, gaming, investment, etc. etc. I think that makes it so hard to apply better psychological incentives for social media - like interactions. Do that, and you put the other section of our blockchain on disadvantage. The key would probably be to split the different areas to distinct apps/communities that operate on the same blockchain, as it is planned with SMTs.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for those comments.
I do think the investment end of this is essential to the Steem ecology. Crypto helps to distinguish us from Twitter and Facebook. But if we let that investment character drive and color all the activity on the platform, we limit growth to a niche audience. So, yeah, bring on the SMTs (I don't really understand them). I'm ready. I'll even buy, if it seems appropriate. But free the social media aspect of the blockchain from the grasping, competitive, hunting, winner-takes-all mentality of rationed resources. Everybody should feel like a winner every time they engage here. Because every time someone feels like a loser, the platform loses.
Well, what do I know? All I really have to go on is personal experience and a little research. I want the good parts of Steemit to succeed. There's a lot to fight for.
Keep Steemin--I will. See you around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46