Chloroplasts Under a Microscope

in #science7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5009.JPG

The picture above is of chloroplast organelles in spinach under a microscope.

After grinding up spinach leaves in a blender with Buffer A (0.35M NaCl, 20mM Tris/Cl, pH 7.4). After one centrifuge cycle at 600 rpm for 5 minutes in the Sorvall RT6000B centrifuge I removed the pellet contains unbroken cells, nuclei, and cell debris. Then I poured the supernatant, liquid around the pellet which contains chloroplast, into a separate tube. The second centrifuge cycle was done at 2500 rpm for 5 minutes and then I removed the supernatant leaving the pellet under the tube. This time the pellet was the part that contained the chlorophyll. Then I combined 10 micro-liters of the chlorophyll and 100 micro-liters of Buffer A onto a microscope slide. Above what is seen is that solution under the microscope with PS1 under x200 magnification.

Let me know if you guys enjoy science related posts,

Schubes

Sort:  

That is awesome. I was actually thinking that there seems to be no one blogging about college life, that could be interesting too. I follow a couple guys with science posts and they seem to do pretty well. I have also seen 1 or 2 other science related tags, I'll have to post when I remember/ find them.

All I could find was science when I checked. I think more science articles and pictures could be a cool addition to content here on steemit.

oh #steemstem is also a big one, i'd include that one... fyi

Thank you so much for sharing all this information! that's great! All the best! Waiting for more posts! :)

Wow microscope really brings us to another world!

Thanks for sharing :-) @schubes I am following. Best of Luck !

Thanks I appreciate it man!

Congratulations! This post won a bonus resteem from @lottobot! Everytime a post is entered into @lottobot's lottery, there is a chance for it to win a bonus resteem, in addition to the jackpot of a 100% upvote from @lottobot. Do you have a post you would like to nominate for the lottery? Just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @lottobot and place the url of the post you want to nominate in the memo. Learn more by reading the introductory post! Good luck!

Congratulations! This post has been awarded a 100% upvote by @lottobot! This post was the winner of lottery #196, which had a total of 1 entries. @lottobot always has a lottery going on! If you would like to nominate a post for the current lottery, just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @lottobot, and include the url of the post you would like to nominate as a memo. Learn more by reading the introductory post! Good luck!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post has received a 0.31 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39