You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flavorful particle physics and the LHCb experiment at CERN

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Nice post! I probably said it before, but I love that through my participation in BOINC that in a tiny way I helped to build the LHC and upgrade it to 13 TeV.

Sort:  

That's something you can definitely be proud of!

If you want to share in that run BOINC on your computers, you can even be rewarded in crypto with Gridcoin.

I am not sure this has really helped to build the LHC (this was decided long long ago before the rise of the internet), but this definitely helps to make the best as we can out of the physics potential of the machine. And this is priceless! Thank you!

BOINC is more oriented to the analysis of the data. The construction is paid by the community.

Sure, perhaps Im over-enthusistic about it, but it helps keep me motivated.

I meant the SixTrack work, which as I understood it (perhaps Im wrong!) was running simulations on the particle beams to help Cern model how to calibrate the machine for both the initial and second phase.

Ah I see where the misunderstanding comes from :)

Calibrating the machine is not the construction of the machine. This is a phase that happens when everything is ready and when one needs to be sure detectors are well aligned, that the beam is under control, etc...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24