You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Citizen Science: Project FeederWatch -- Count #12 Report w/Original Photos

in #science7 years ago

Very cool. I've been thinking about getting a peanut feeder ever since I got rid of my thistle feeder (ugh!!). Funny you get so many Starlings. I'm lucky that I'm just out of range that they don't come to my part of Sonoma (I live downtown) but instead flock to the countryside.

On another note, I'm so insanely jealous you get woodpeckers!! But, again, I live in a more urban spot in a rural area, so they don't visit. I did see a Flicker on my walk yesterday though, which was VERY cool!

Sort:  

Usually the finches prefer the thistle feeder but this year they prefer the coarse sunflower seeds.

I can always send a few Starlings your way. If I had a chance to fly where ever I wanted I would fly south for the winter.

The woodpeckers in the area are very cool. The Pileated Woodpecker is the one I see very rarely. The Red-headed Woodpecker and the Northern Flicker seem to be warm weather birds in this area. I only see them during the warm months.

I am hoping to see Yellow-headed Blackbirds this spring. I missed seeing them as they passed through the area last year.

Have great week!
Steem on,
Mike

Yes, the Lesser Finches we get hate the thistle - they only eat it out of desperation regardless of the year. After a windstorm the feeder was knocked over and the thistle spilled and due to rain, created mold.

I decided just to invest in sunflower chips.

Yes, we have all the woodpeckers, just not where I live specifically (downtown). Pileated are cool, I see them mainly in the more forested and mountainous areas of California.

The Downy is so cute!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65316.48
ETH 2593.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65