You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ASK Me Physics: What does observation mean in youngs double slit experiment.

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Thank you very much for this explanation.

For this couple of weeks I was still searching through internet to understand what is really going on with this electron during act of observation And it looks like the more I know about quantum mechanics the less I understand. But on the other hand some time ago I was told something like if you think you understand quantum mechanics, you probably don't understand quantum mechanics. So it's good enough for me that at least I do understand equations describing behavior of electron :)

For now I more or less understand that to make any measurements of electron we use photons that somehow interact with wave of probabilities, making only one of these probabilities a measured state of electron.

My question could be in fact phrased as: is intelligence or consciousness anyhow connected with collapsing of wave?
And after your answer and several other articles I read recently I am sure the answer is no... unfortunately.

BTW, my question and all "research" I made later was inspired by SF story "Divining Light" by Ted Kosmatka.

Sort:  

well the idea of intelligence and consciousness in the universe is a huge area of study and wonder. Nothing can be discarded in that area until we have a been understanding. When you think about it the idea of sentient beings in the universe is weird. It does make sense or reason. It is in fact why some physics hold the idea of a god.

In fact life seems to counteract the laws of entropy, though new research suggested that life is the most efficient form of entropy, so as to get to a state of lowest entropy quicker there has to be strange cases of increasing entropy (life). There is also the Anthropic principle which has interesting conclusions on life.

Once again thanks for detailed explanation, and for your thougths about consciousness of the universe :) There is a lot of SF novels that explores that ideas. I think I should read a little bit more about scientifics theories behind that, so that I have some knowledge base while reading.

BTW. I really have no idea, why your answers are not upvoted. In my opinion they are very, very interesting and valueable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32