Geodes and thundereggs

in #science7 years ago

   Just thought I'd share a few of the geodes and thunder eggs we have cut or cracked at our store. People always ask me: What are my favorite rocks? I used to say fossils because they are my first love. However, since owning a rock and fossil shop, I have found I have an appreciation for different rocks in different ways. Geodes And thunder eggs are what I call the fun rocks. For the most part, they are kind of ugly on the outside but amazing on the inside. On our geode display sign It says "Always a surprise inside" 

  Geodes and thunder eggs are volcanic rocks, that start out as a rock bubble with mineral laden moisture trapped ins ide. Over the years, the water escapes through tiny cracks or pores. The minerals that are left, form crystals inside. This process will continue until the moisture runs out, the geode is removed from it's environment, or the geode fills completely. Thunder eggs form pretty much the same way but will have very jagged edges with points called star points. The following pictures show just a small sample of what you can find inside.

Chalcedony geode with smokey druzy quartz. 

Quartz with yellow jasper in the walls. 

Quartz Kentucky geode

Morrocan geode

Banded chalcedony geode wit ha very small druzy quartz opening

Another banded chalcedony with a bigger opening with druzy amethyst. Notice it wants to be a thunder egg. :-)

Another banded chalcedony geode. This one is solid. Those are called nodules. I thought the perfectly circular mineral was amazing. 

Mexican red hot thunder egg.

Utah thunder egg. Note the pointed corners.

Double geode, with a hint of amethyst, from Chihuahua Mexico.

 

Another double amethyst geode from Chihuahua.

 

Finally a single amethyst geode from the same location.

  So as you can see from this small selection, That geodes are indeed a fun and interesting rock.


Sort:  

Nice rocks. I have a picture of some rocks posted @cullyguy that I wish you take a look at and give your thoughts on what they are .Giving you an up vote an a follow

Pretty things!
I have one at home I cracked open myself, from your Dutch collegues here:
http://www.deoudeaarde.nl/

Thanks for the reply and upvote. It's good to know my posts are appreciated across the pond. :-) Those are HUGE amethyst crystals in that video :-O

Awesome! I live in Iowa, and our state rock is the Geode. In fact, within an hour drive we have Lake Geode, and Geode State Park, different locations.

Thank you. Yes Iowa is very well known for it's geodes . We have Keokuk geodes in the store.

Really beautiful and quite varied! Thanks for sharing! 😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you for the comment and upvote. :-)

Cool pictures! My former father-in-law was a park ranger in Oregon and brought me a box of them from Mt. St. Helens. I love they way they look. I had a few in my aquarium, they looked really cool under artificial light.

Thank you for the upvote. We had some Oregon geodes as well as Jade for a while. Sold it all.

Lost mine in a divorce!

Oh noooo! :-O

Are really beautiful congratulations my friend @roswellrockman, today I learned something new thank you very much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25