You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Theory Of Almost Everything

in #science6 years ago

Hi @zyx066!

What's your name?

As I'm writing this comment, my 8 year old nephew is beside me. I ask him, "What is science?" He answered, "Science is experiment." I said, "What else can you say about science?" He again said, "That's all I can say!"

What's your idea when someone says that science is experiment?
I guess science is more than experiment. And its so crucial and important to know it because it help us see reality more clearly

There are things that science can't explain. Even in our day to day living, there are those experiences we don't understand even science can't. It shows that there is something paranormal or mystery that's happening that science and we people could not understand. Those are obviously beyond our imagination and beyond science, which now we call a supernatural, thus, the deities, souls, ghosts, spirits, gods and God come into place because science cannot understand them. So therefore, there is truth behind those deities, souls, ghosts, spirits, gods and God.

Sort:  

Thanks for this wonderful comment @ronel. My name is Winston, and I'm glad to meet you :-) And I'm so glad to read about your child: we are such an inquisitive and curious species, but too many of us manage to lose so much of that child-like inquisitiveness when we grow up... And most of us seem to feel uncomfortable with "not knowing", so we gradually fill in our own truths about reality, because without some measure of certainties in our lives, well, live would become chaotic and we would never decide to do anything if we endlessly keep asking "but what if..."

And one of the most used certainties about things we truly don't know, is a god or gods. This phenomenon even has a name and is called "the god of the gaps", which simply means that if we don't understand why things happen, we invent a supernatural being to fill the gaps in our knowledge. Through our extensive history the need to invoke a god for explanation has become less and less. You describe this yourself:

... and God come into place because science cannot understand them.

But ultimately, both religion and science are ways we've devised to give us more certainties in live, they're both ways to search for some sort of "truth". Insurance companies have mastered the art of exploiting that need we have for certainties in our lives ;-) This is generalizing of course, as is anything I said in my article about scientists. Just read the response by @yvesoler, watch the interview in this article or read the water-studies by Masaru Emoto, who studies the effect consciousness has on water and if water itself has some kind of consciousness.

For me personally it's simple: I don't know a lot :-) I suspect, I think, and I assume, but "truth" is much more a journey (and a glorious one) than an end-station ;-)

For me personally it's simple: I don't know a lot :-) I suspect, I think, and I assume, but "truth" is much more a journey (and a glorious one) than an end-station

I view things base on my faith/belief/principle/disposition, knowledge and experience. It means that I have my own stand and explanation.

You know something or many, you just want to be in your safe and comfort zone of not making mistakes. You're still on a neutral state as I could see it. You can agree or disagree on my statements. And I love feedback.

In our lives there is a decision making we can't just refuse and ignore. I can't suspect, assume or think about when a huge snake is coming to my child 3 meters away. I have to decide immediately and act.

How about death as certain that certainly our body will decompose when the right and perfect time comes? Can I still suspect, assume or think? Can I say, "I don't know about that."?

I view things base on my faith/belief/principle/disposition, knowledge and experience.

As does everyone, including me. Like I said: it's impossible for us to live without a certain amount of certainties, so we act and kill, or otherwise stop the snake ;-)

In this article though I tried to explain sciences latest possible answers to life's largest and oldest questions; there's no certainties there. There's no certainties in science at all even. If we don't even have a good definition of life, how can we presume to know what it means to die? And even the snake and your kid: who says the life of your kid is worth more than that of the snake? We both know the answers and we both choose the child, but that doesn't take away from the question what is moral and what is not, and there's no definite answers there.

I view things base on my faith/belief/principle/disposition, knowledge and experience.

And that's why I choose to not believe in a God: religion introduces some absolute truth, a sort of truth I cannot have about almost anything. But I don't begrudge or dislike people who do believe in God :-)

Thanks for the response @zyx066!

By the way what's your name if you don't mind?

And that's why I choose to not believe in a God: religion introduces some absolute truth, a sort of truth I cannot have about almost anything. But I don't begrudge or dislike people who do believe in God :-)

I respect all people as well, even criminals, prostitutes, addicts and all kinds of people of any sort.
And I don't judge any person at all, even how bad that person is, because I know that I don't know what that person is going through. I can't even judge myself, much more to other people.

We both know the answers and we both choose the child, but that doesn't take away from the question what is moral and what is not, and there's no definite answers there.

So you believe on morality?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69