Useless information #13 – The most expensive materials in the worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #science8 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Useless information #13 – The most expensive materials in the world


I moved to Hive. You can read all my content there.
Due to a sad series of events steem is no longer decentralized nor censorship-resistant.
I don't know how it will look like in the future but right now it's more like a personal database than a proper blockchain.
Check out Hive.io

Sort:  

Mmmmh interesting, but I don't get it. At least for the antimatter part (I can't however watch the videos).

I would not classify antimatter as a material as it does not exist freely in nature and cannot be used for anything but scientific research. As soon as produced, if not stored, it indeed annihilates quickly. One has thus no time to do anything with it. And one cannot store it forever. And storing has also a cost. To add a few point to that.

Moreover, positrons and antihydrogens are two antimatter systems. One is way easier to produce than the other and the associated costs may be different.

All of this to say that I do not understand both the numbers and the classification as material :)

Yeah...I'm not sure I would call it "material" :)
Ok, it's the most expensive "thing" to produce but it's hard do compare with the other items in the list.
These rankings focused on costs regardless of utility and production/harvest method usually mix things as different as snake venom, cocaine and caviar.
I guess many people would answer diamond is the most expensive material of all, so it's still interesting to know this kind of things.

Diamond depends also on the quality I guess. But I am no diamond expert :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61