You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Delicious poison: You don’t simply burn what you eat.

in #science7 years ago

I want to add another element that was helpful for me in my understanding. This is a theory that I have. That is of microbiology.

The bacteria in our gut who thrive off simple (often processed) sugar. When you consume too much of one type of food, the biology gets unbalanced. This unbalance causes cravings in the gut (as these bacteria can communicate with us through your guy and the neurons down there) this causes us false indications of "hunger" and "food cravings" that aren't actually coming from 'us'. I noticed this phenomenon for me (that is after having read about it so often) with fasting as I took note of different cycles of cravings. How cravings would go from minor to extremely intense before rapidly fading. I attribute this to the biology interacting with my gut more intensely as they start to die off, giving us that hunger craving. But, once the bacteria populations die (evidenced in bacteria mucous found in my stool) the cravings subside and homeostasis is obtained.

Either way, just decided I could benefit from writing a whole blog on this and citing my evidence. But just wanted to share :)

Thanks for getting good information out there! I look forward to more.

Sort:  

Oh man, the biochemistry part was the one I skipped in the lecture because I don't understand it at all) So I can't really say anything. I am glad it helped, though) Thanks for reading)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52