You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We are living through the greatest extinction event since non-avian dinosaurs died 65 Million years ago

in #science8 years ago

I quote from Dane Wigington's site geoengineeringwatch.org:

Fully 200+ species of plants and animals are being lost to extinction each and every day. This rate is 10,000 times “natural variability” which is 1,000,000% of “normal” background extinction rates.

Source: http://www.geoengineeringwatch.org/life-on-earth-is-in-virtual-freefall/

Wigington lays out scientific data supporting all of his assertions. I have not looked too closely at Al Gore's ideas but I'm sure the two men would differ widely on several points.

Gore is an insider handsomely rewarded for conceding the 2000 election to George Bush. Wigington is by all accounts just a concerned citizen.

Sort:  

Thanks! I had missed out on that article, though it is a couple of years old.

To be frank, I only left that Al Gore speech there as that was the only positive thing I could find amidst a whole of doom and gloom. Gore's figures are accurate and peer-reviewed, but even the most robust reforms aren't going to prevent this mass extinction. All we can hope to do is make sure it's not as deadly as the K-T event.

Also, I'm planning a follow-up post later in the year - I expect there will be more data about extinction of plant species. I expect plant extinction to be much worse than those of vertebrates.

Ok I'll be watching for the follow-up article. Meanwhile, today (August 5th) in Redding, California there was a "Public Awareness Event" ( http://www.geoengineeringwatch.org/major-northern-california-vaxxedclimate-engineering-public-awareness-event/ ) .. so I expect video from the event to be available soon.

Yes, I have been following that - will watch the video when available.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29