You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can a lesser intelligence create a greater one? Of course it can!

in #science7 years ago

I have been interested in AI for quite a while and after reading “Artificial Life” by Steven Levy, I started thinking that true artificial intelligence couldn’t be achieved without using some sort of genetic algorithms. I was so taken with the idea I programmed a version of Conway’s “Game of Life” in Macromedia Director. (I'm old!)

After reading a lot about evolution I am now of the opinion that a true sentient being will not be created without the introduction of some parasitic forces. It’s life competing with itself that created a kind of arms race producing better and better organisms. I wrote about it here.

When AI programmers figure this out we may be in for some real trouble! Whoops, I just let the cat out of the bag.

You did a really great job with this post. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56