Sociology is a F*cking mess! - It is messy, and I love it

in #science7 years ago

The day I declared that I also wanted to study sociology some of my friends foresaw the worst possible scenario: Not only I confessed that I was very concerned about my buddies that were all superbpotheads, but I was also "wasting my talent and capacity studying a subjective career".
"Besides" -they insisted- "you won't find a certainty in your life if you follow that path, not even THEY know WTF they are doing!".


“Ask not the elves for advice, because they will tell you both 'yes' and 'no'.”
J.R.R. Tolkien

No matter how hard I tried I was never able to specialize in a specific field of science, not even the real sciences: Natural or exact. Precisely that was what lured me in, the uncertainty, the usual doubt about everything one knew:
The constant need for questioning and re-questioning.

But, what makes social sciences look so "poorly strict"? Why are they not seen as "true sciences"?
Perhaps it is because of the fact that social sciences have a few characteristics that to be strict and scientific are required to be totally different!

The main difference between social and hardcore sciences is complexity, the complexity of a subject to study such as the social reality. Even when it looks hard to study a star because it is fucking far away: It is a piece of cake compared to the challenge it means to attempt to study the effects of prolonged warfare in cultures. It is a fucking BIG mess that rotates around a whole different axis.


Once I said: "science may not tell you the real truth, but it will tell you, at least, which one of the truths is not real". I should have been more specific. That only applies to hardcore sciences. In social sciences: Nothing is to be held as absolute. Whenever you have "evidence" you better show it, before it expires.


We already know that Nature is messy, when we study societies contained within that nature we empower that complexity, at least, to the cube (this is estimate, remember, no absolutes!).

That is just not complicated enough, sociology is forced to work under the complexity of specific power relations transversed by cultural and social contexts that are constantly changing as they forge each other, even historic ones! Not to mention the always present conflicts of interests.
Believe me, it is easier to measure the behavior of a free falling body when this body is not interacting with other bodies which hold unknown properties each.
Sociology cannot even be considered a "neutral" science, as we notice that its knowledge is able to empower the speech of people that should never be empowered!


It is hard, conflictive, never absolute to be a sociologist.
But, as knowledge piles up, it is easier to study ourselves more and more as new environments arise. It becomes easier to fight against the problems that arise in them, because we (somehow) understand them now.

It is a lovely science that forces you to do what all scientists love to:

Think

Sort:  

I'll upvote everyone tomorrow morning when my voting power regenerates

I thought the headline read Scientology.... lol, but nope, not at all. This is an interesting look into sociology. The star analogy was good and helped put it in perspective.

Yes, it is... But the misunderstanding is common thanks to a rather funny social factor:
Everyone has an "opinion" about why a society is how it is. But they have it under the limited measuring rule they possess!

It is a common event to see someone criticizing a country as a general "thing" ... when that someone never placed a foot our of his own town... or live always under his/her parents protection.

that is the truth. even a world traveler doesn't understand life in the slums in major cities in the US because the is likely a place they never traveled. It is a very interesting subject.

Science i believe is just another form of spirituality but on a very basic lower understanding. We cannot really make sense of many of the things going on in the world such as: Space is cold, yet there is a freakin SUN out in space so how is that possible?

Well my theory for example explains that The Sun merely is a transformer drawing in energy from another reality all together, so the sun doesn't burn its more like a cold fusion procces going on, it absorbs and releases quantum energy , This is also why imo the Sun has turned from a Yellow color into a White color.

MINDBLOWN!

Wow, you seriously need to read my articles...

Oh wow my mind read Science HAHA its 1:22 AM im so tired MINDBLOWN indeed xD

Hello! I just upvoted you! I help new Steemit members! Upvote this comment and follow me! I will upvote your future posts! To any other visitor, upvote this post also to receive free UpVotes from me! Happy SteemIt! @dailyaffirmation

No thanks, I do not like vote trading. Feel free to vote me if you like my content, I will if I like yours.

I work daily with a group of sociologists. they are amazing creatures, aren't they? ;)

Indeed...

:p

ahah well I get big eyes when I say I studied MAths, so I know what you mean.

It is filled with complexity, glad you love it. Keep working that brain of yours :P

I see strict sciences as deterministic alone, while social science also includes free will which increases the variability and complexity.

This post has received a 4.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @renzoarg.

Hola, ¿te parece si nos seguimos? te dejo mi voto :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81