You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weird animals named after famous figures

in #science7 years ago

As a huge Johnny Depp fan, Kootenichela deppi has to be my favorite on your list, but the more I read, the more that was a hard choice! Your post also encouraged me to google others and I came across:

The Beyonce horse fly. The Scaptia beyonceae, a rare species of horse fly found in Queensland, Australia, was named after the American singer Beyonce, in January. Scientist Bryan Lessard said it was "the unique dense golden hairs on the fly's abdomen that led me to name this fly in honour of the performer". source

I was expecting it to be because of a rather large "abdomen" aka bum... sorry :). Loved this post!

Sort:  

Hahaha - yeah that was exactly what I was expecting when I read "Beyoncé fly"

And thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42