You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Brain Training Games Might Not Be Any Better Than Video Games For Improving The Mind Suggests New Study

in #science7 years ago

Yes, I've heard this kind of thing too.

I used to play a lot of those games when I was younger, and I never really saw any kind of improvement in anything I did. The only games that actually made me good at something were games where I had to either think really well, or games that required me to move really fast.

For example, strategy games that required me to focus on multiple things and think two or three moves ahead helped me in that area. League of Legends for example is a game that requires you to focus on multiple things at the same time and think two or three moves ahead.

It helped me a lot when it comes to my work, especially graphic design, because now I'm more capable of thinking about all the steps I need to do before doing them and avoid any future problem that I may have.

Small shooting games that require me to aim very fast and in certain locations also helped me again, with my work. I was able to move my mouse faster because I was comfortable doing it and with more precision.

Even typing games like the TypeRacer website helped me type faster and focus more on the things that I want to write than on the keyboard.

So there are games that influence the way you do things, or that boost the way you think in certain areas, but just because people say a game will improve your brain, it doesn't mean it's actually true. What those games will improve is your ability to maybe solve those kind of problems featured in the game, but nothing more.

Anyway, great article and best of luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30