You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Denialism - Religion Masquerading As Skepticism?

in #science7 years ago

"Life is not that simple and you don't always have the information required to make such a definitive judgment."
@thecryptofiend
This had to be my favorite line. The overall piece was well written, but that was by far my favorite. As a teacher and parent, kids come up with all kinds of questions and believe you will be able to give various answers. I cannot state the number of times I have said something along the lines of 'No idea, let's see if we can find the answer.' To encourage them to investigate and dig to see what they find on the topic. As an adult I have found it a lot harder to look at someone and say that certain things work in absolute ways. I will usually preface my opinion on a topic, especially with paranormal/supernatural, with the fact that this is an opinion or as far as I know. Completely aware that I may not have all the facts in about a topic, and generally open to hearing more about a topic.

Denialism seems like a defensive approach to things that people cannot fit into their own worldview. Perhaps because it is too challenging for them to envelop it into the folds, or they dislike how it starkly contrasts their already held beliefs.

Good food for thought on the paranormal topic. Thank you for sharing!

Sort:  

Thank you for such a great answer. I think human beings are primed to make definitive judgments on limited information - in a survival situation it can save your life. It doesn't really help in the pursuit of scientific knowledge though.

I absolutely agree that science does not mix with emotional reactions. ^_^ People react faster than they usually realize why they formed that opinion. Definitely keep pushing that concept that this topic can be treated scientifically and not only sectioned off for horror related topics. You did a great job at presenting your thoughts. I will be checking for more blogs for certain.

Thank you so much:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68433.35
ETH 3735.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66