You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Piqued Lite - The Awesome, Tragic Story Of The First Successful Ironclad Submarine, The H.L. Hunley, And The New Research That Explains It's Mysterious Demise

in #science7 years ago

One of my former colleagues had a shirt that said "H. L. Hunley Dive Team" on it. I thought it was a joke, like "Titanic Swim Club." He seemed a little bit offended.

Turns out he participated in the 2000 project to raise the Hunley. He might have written about it in this book: https://www.amazon.com/Trial-Fire-Science-Technology-Civil/dp/157249185X
I can't remember and I gave my copy to my dad. You might like the book. One of the more memorable stories is about the technologies that the Union Army used to dig a tunnel under the Confederate lines at Petersburg. At the time is was the longest tunnel every made without air vents.

Sort:  

Haha - no offense to your friend - but that is a superbly witty t-shirt - so much so I may need to have one custom made.

I wonder if there is a copy of that book in the NYPL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43