13 Year-Old Builds Fusion Reactor

in #science6 years ago

13 year-old Jackson Oswalt, of Memphis, Tennessee became the youngest person to build a functioning fusion reactor last year.

After reading about a 14 year-old named Taylor Wilson who completed the difficult task in Arkansas in 2008, Jackson determined to beat the record. He then proceeded to gather the supplies necessary to build a machine capable of releasing measurable fusion energy through smashing atoms together inside a hot plasma.

He transformed his old playroom into a laboratory, with some help from his parents, who put up 10 grand towards his science project! As always, a scientist requires ample funding.... Using knowledge and schematics gained from an online physics forum called the Open Source Fusor Research Consortium, and parts bought off of ebay and in some cases self-modified, Jackson began the painstaking assembly process, learning a great deal through trial and error.

After a year of dedicated work, on Jan. 19, 2018 Jackson’s reactor successfully combined atoms of deuterium gas in its plasma core, causing the detectable ejection of neutrons. The successful fusion was recorded and verified, making Jackson a world-record holder on top of his impressive achievement.

Sort:  

F-ing kids these days building nuclear reactors in the bedrooms! Hahaha
When I was 13 years old I was playing Saga Genesis and skateboarding. I will never amount to as much as this 13 year old. I clearly wasted my life away. If only my mom had sent me to private school hahaha.

Posted using Partiko Android

I was right there with you on the genesis, but I gave up skateboarding after hundreds of unsuccessful attempts to ollie :(

Hahaha yeah I get that. I wasnt all that good to be honest

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for sharing a great post of technology. I think this post has been a lot to learn. Now a lot of ideas about technology are important information.

Wow. This is great to hear. This will be a great milestone achieved in his life. So young

Have you ever noticed how more 13-14 yo kids nowadays are called "scientists" by the media? And usually never hear about them when they grow up, something smells fishy here...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56832.31
ETH 2344.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43