You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's as hard to make a career in academia as it is to play professional football

in #science7 years ago (edited)

Yes, you can make much more money if you just go and become (for example) a real estate agent. I studied physics. Nobody in their right mind would do that for the money. It's hard work, and the competition is stiff. But most people in the field don't care.

Personally, I do it because I think science is what, in the long term, improves people's lives. If I can even make a small contribution, push things just half a step forward, then that has the potential to help millions of people, now and in the future.

So sure, I could make far more money doing other things. But I am not going to, because there are more important things in life than money.

Sort:  

Same here. I have a B.S. in Physics and didn't do it for the money. Having a college degree has its merits, but I honestly think it is the most interesting subject to study in school. There are some great posts that I have read here on Steemit that are physics-related. @lemouth has some great one about particle physics and I enjoy reading different theories like the holographic principle, supersymmetry, and string theory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36